Today's Hours
The following information sources provide essential background information on oppression. Developing an understaning of the racism, homophobia, anti-semetic, anti-trans or misogynistic practices occur will elevate not only our teaching, but our interactions with others.
Search the library's catalog or contact your area librarian for further information.
Anti-Racist Educational Leadership and Policy by 
This link opens in a new window
Foundations of Critical Race Theory in Education by
The emergence of Critical Race Theory (CRT) marked a pivotal moment in the history of racial politics within the academy and powerfully influenced the broader conversation about race and racism in the United States and beyond. Comprised of articles by some of most prominent scholars in the field of CRT, this groundbreaking anthology is the first to pull together both the foundational writings and more recent scholarship on the cultural and racial politics of schooling. The collection offers a variety of critical perspectives on race, analyzing the causes, consequences and manifestations of race, racism, and inequity in schooling. Unique to this updated edition are a variety of contributions by key CRT scholars published within the last five years, including an all-new section dedicated to the intersections of race and dis/ability within contemporary schooling. Each section concludes with a set of questions and discussion points to further engage with the issues discussed in the readings. This revised edition of a landmark publication documents the progress to date of the CRT movement and acts to further spur developments in education policy, critical pedagogy, and social justice, making it a crucial resource for students and educators alike.
This link opens in a new window
Hidden in White Sight by This link opens in a new window
Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law by This link opens in a new window
Understanding and Managing Sophisticated and Everyday Racism by This link opens in a new window
Voices of Asian Americans in Higher Education by
"Voices of Asian Americans in Higher Education: Unheard Voices is a unique and historical book. Asian Americans are often portrayed as "model minority", yet their personal and educational experiences are often unheard. In this book, 10 Asian American higher education educators and scholars presented their realistic pictures in American higher education by through their personal narratives. The contributors in this book come from different regions and teach in different colleges and universities; and coincidentally, they all endure the "outsider" category formerly as students and now as professors and leaders. This "outsider" status can be emotionally overwhelming and psychologically unnerving. This status hampers opportunities for Asian Americans to grow and maximize their fullest potential. Though they develop different strategies to address their to address their "outsider" label, it is does not make it comfortable. But, time and time again, they have proven that they can succeed! In this technological age, we must value unending truths as we educate ourselves and others. We hope the book can be an educational and informational resources for administrator and faculty in higher education and educational policy makers"--
This link opens in a new window
Who's Black and Why? by This link opens in a new window
Measuring Race by This link opens in a new windowThe following information is copied, with permission, from the "Conducting research through an anti-racism lens' guide created by Shanda Hunt and Amy Rieglemat at the University of Minnesota. Please, consult their guide for a more complete presentation.
Use inclusive citation practices
Citation bias is the tendency for researchers to cite investigations that show a positive effect and/or cite articles published in preferred journals due to familiarity. There has recently been significant discourse on how citation bias impacts racialized people and female-identifying scholars. Not only does citation bias harm racialized scholars, but it also hinders scientific progress. One method to mitigate the problem is to issue a Citation Diversity Statement, a short paragraph included before the references section of an article where the authors consider their own bias and quantify the equitability of their reference lists. Additionally, an anthropologist who studied the Cite Black Women movement wrote about antiracist citational politics and praxis and makes the following (and more) suggestions:
Cite oral histories
Knowledge may be passed on through oral teachings and histories, but those are difficult to cite since "personal communication" does not show up in reference lists. If citing oral teachings, from Indigenous elders, for example, utilize the template developed by Lorisia MacLeod and adopted by the American Psychological Association and Modern Language Association.
Consult research found in non-Western journals
The Journals Online Project - aimed at providing increased visibility, accessibility, and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries so that the research outputs produced in these countries can be found, shared, and used more effectively - was launched by the International Network for Advancing Science and Policy (INASP) in response to voices not heard, wasted talent, and unused research.
Search for existing collections
Collections of resources created by racialized scholars may already exist in your discipline, and a thorough Google search should lead you to them. For example, the Diverse BookFinder is a database of picture books published since 2002 featuring racialized characters that is useful for education disciplines. CiteHER is a database designed to amplify the published scholarly and creative work of Black women in computing. And The Syllabus Project aims to diversify environmental history syllabi by "bringing more women and people of color into our courses" via an open sourced Zotero library.
Evaluate whether the human participant research you are citing is representative
Most published research is not representative of the majority of populations because the human participant samples lack diversity. For example, behavioral genetic research heavily focuses on white people of European ancestry. Harden refers to these samples as WWEIRD in adding a W (White) to an acronym coined by Henrich, et al., where WEIRD stands for Western, Educated, Industrialized, Rich, and Democratic. Heinrich and others have written about how the majority of research is sampled from WEIRD societies. WEIRD can be applied to behavioral research based on cultural, environmental, and socioeconomic factors but has also been critiqued for not acknowledging values and research practices informed by whiteness, not including race and ethnicity, and not addressing diversification of contexts as well as samples. Additionally, the research community can take steps to welcome non-WEIRD researchers into mainstream literature.
When diving into existing literature, ask yourself:
For more information on decentering whiteness in secondary research, see:
ADA Home Page This is a government website with information related to the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Categories of Disabilities in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Disabilities covered under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.
Handbook of Americans with Disabilities Act This handbook is designed to provide help in reading the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Indiana Disability Resource Finder
Indiana State University Disability Services
National Organization on Disability This is national organization designed to help disabled persons in the employment arena.
National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research Government sponsored research into disabilities.
Students with Disabilities Preparing for Postsecondary Education prepared by the US Office of Civil Rights
U.S. Department of Labor Disability Resources Government information portal by the U.S. Department of Labor Office of Disability Employment Policy on useful disability resources.
Gender Resources from the World Health Organization "Gender refers to the roles, behaviours, activities, attributes and opportunities that any society considers appropriate for girls and boys, and women and men. Gender interacts with, but is different from, the binary categories of biological sex."
Pipelines, Pathways, and Institutional Leadership: An Update on the Status of Women in Higher Education an update on the status of women in higher education. This infobrief by ACE's Center for Policy Research and Strategy and ACE's Division of Leadership Programs updates key statistics about women in higher education, examining issues like tenure, compensation and representation in high-ranking leadership positions, such as the presidency and membership on governing boards.
Transgender College Students published by Lambda Legal.
Why Are there So Few Black Women in Higher Education?
Women in Educatin Report tracks the progess of women in academia
Fact Sheets: LGTBQ Students in Higher Education published by the Postsecondary National Policy Institute (PNPI)
Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network an organization designed to raise awareness of issues gay students face in education.
ISU LGBT Student Resource Center
LGBTQ Representation & Rights Research Initiative at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Definitions the Human Rights Campaign
American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education Organization with news and job postings related to Hispanic Americans in higher education.
Association for Jewish Studies advances research and teaching in Jewish Studies at colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning and and to fosters greater understanding of Jewish Studies scholarship among the wider public.
Diverse Issues in Higher Education - African Americans Website with blogs and news about African American issues in higher education.
Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Magazine Online magazine discussing issues pertinent to Hispanic Americans in higher education.
Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) HACU website that details job openings and issues relevant to Hispanic Americans in higher education.
Indiana Association of Bvlacks in Higher Education
Journal of Blacks in Higher Education Website providing research and news related to African Americans in higher education.
The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) is a non-profit association that fosters the study of the Middle East, promotes high standards of scholarship and teaching, and encourages public understanding of the region and its peoples through programs, publications and services that enhance education, further intellectual exchange, recognize professional distinction, and defend academic freedom in accordance with its status as a 501(c)(3) scientific, educational, literary, and charitable organization.
21st Century Scholarship Program
2018 Indiana College Equity Report published by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Council for Opportunity in Education Information-rich website with news and research related to socioeconomic issues in higher education.
Economic Policy Institute Report on Testing and Student Inequality Report about socioeconomic factors influencing poor US student performance on international tests.
Federal TRIO Programs The Federal TRIO Programs (TRIO) are Federal outreach and student services programs designed to identify and provide services for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. TRIO includes eight programs targeted to serve and assist low-income individuals, first-generation college students, and individuals with disabilities to progress through the academic pipeline from middle school to postbaccalaureate programs. TRIO also includes a training program for directors and staff of TRIO projects.
Diversity and Democracy Magazine sponsored by the American Association of University Professionals.
Institute for Demographic and Socioeconomic Research "The Institute for Demographic and Socioeconomic Research is a comprehensive institute for the examination of the determinants and consequences of demographic change. It is comprised of three components, including the Texas State Data Center, a state entity, which distributes demographic, economic, and related data and information to private and public sector clients in Texas and other parts of the nation.
.Rural Students in Higher Education The Postsecondary National Policy Institute (PNPI) provides current and prospective policymakers with a substantive and collegial foundation on which to build federal higher education policies that drive positive outcomes for students and their families.
Department of Veterans Affairs Main government agency with resources for veterans.
IDVA's Veterans Resource Hub a state of IN resource
NASPA - Veterans KC Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education: The Veterans Knowledge Community is the national leader in supporting the generation and dissemination of knowledge in support of the college success of student veterans.
National Archives - Veterans Benefit Resources
National Resource Directory The National Resource Directory and the Office of Warrior Care Policy engage with programs for Service Members and Veterans across the Department of Defense, Department of Veterans Affairs, other U.S. Government agencies, and associated organizations.
National Center for Veterans Studies Specializing in research and services about veterans - located at the University of Utah.