Today's Hours
Using the Advanced Search provides more options to focus your search.
Searching Library Catalogs:
KeyWord Search:
Type one or more words of the title, author, subject, series or song titles. Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. For example:
twain huckleberry
harry potter goblet
dylan tangled blue
If you aren't sure of how to spell something, use '*' for 1-5 characters, '**' for open-ended truncation, or '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word. For example: polic*, comput**, wom?n
Author Search:
Type all or part of the author's name (last name, first) or the name of an illustrator, actor, director, composer, performer or organization. For example:
Steel, Danielle
Madonna
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Title Search:
Type as much or as little of the title as you know, beginning with the first words of the title. If you don't know the exact title, do a keyword search. For example:
sound of music
to kill a mockingbird
harry potter and the
Create a List of Searches:
To make a list that can be printed or emailed as you search the catalog, select items by marking the box to the left of a title and then clicking on Save to Marked List. Items can also be added to a list from an individual item record by clicking on the Save to List button.
Once you have created a list, use the View List button and then select Export Saved List to choose your print or email choices. To print, select Send List to: Screen and print from your browser.
This page provides tips on research and using the library catalogs and databases. Information is also provided on searching Google for information on mass shootings.
The majority of information on specific mass shootings will be found in the News databases and on Google.
Books (print and electronic) can provide background material on your topic. Encyclopedias are excellent sources to locate background material on a topic. Reviewing background material can help you understand a topic and determine what area of the topic you want to research. The material can also provide keywords and search terms to use in the library catalogs and databases.
Databases (general and subject specific) can provide access to scholarly and popular articles, historical information and current research. You can limit your searches, including specific dates, types of article, or full-text only. Generally, databases provide information covering a particular time span (1900-2010 for example). Depending upon the date frame of your topic, you may need to use the historical news databases for information.
Check your assignment requirements to insure that the sources you use are acceptable.
Google provides a variety of sources on mass killings in the United States. One can locate newspaper articles, interviews, and photographs of the incidents. If you use Google, search by event name "Sandy Hook shooting" or the name of the perpetrator "Dylan Klebold" or the name of a victim "Joe Jones." Remember to evaluate the sources you find on Google to make sure they are valid.
Scholarly and popular articles are found in databases. If your assignment requires scholarly articles, look for "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" on the search page and check the box; that insures the database returns scholarly sources from your searches. Do not limit your searches to criminal justice databases, if your topic is current you may want to search newspaper databases for current information or statistics.
Be aware that some current sources such as newspapers or popular magazines (People, National Geographic) are not considered scholarly sources.
If you need assistance searching a database, look for a Help or "?" section on the search page; you can also consult a librarian for assistance in searching a database.
When you find a scholarly article useful for your topic, look at the bibliography at the end of the article. Often, checking the bibliography can provide you with additional sources to use in your research.
You may want to search the following databases for information: Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher for detailed information on gun control.
When you search the databases, remember the requirements of your assignment.
