Educational Psychology

Dissertation Abstracts

Dissertations & Theses @ Indiana State University

Education in Video: Volumes I and II

Education Source Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.

ERIC Provides extensive coverage of major developments in educational research and practice. ERIC includes citations to educational journal articles and unpublished educational documents.

Professional Development Collection Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 450 full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Cunningham Collection (American Education) Contains important editions of the works of American educators and educational psychologists such as Dewey, Barnard, Hall, James, Mann, and Thorndike. Also contains editions of early educational journals and a number of early American children's books and even a few textbooks. 

• APA LInks to Data Sests and Repositories  A list of publicly available data sets and repositories compiled by the American Psychological Association.

• The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states, BRFSS now collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.

• Diversity Data curates data sources for a diverse and equitable future gather by 

• Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)  ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more. For assistance with ICPSR data, please contact the Social Science Data Archive.

• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) provides public use data files and documentation related to collection, analysis, and dissemination of behavioral health data. Data sets can be downloaded in variety of formats, including SAS, SPSS, Stata, etc.

• National Archive of Criminal Justice Data The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.

• Odum Institute Dataverse The Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving and preserving social science data. The Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine readable data in the United States. Data sets are searchable and browsable.

• Data Archiving and Networked Services The collection includes datasets from the Humanities, e.g. History and Archaeology, Social sciences, and Geospatial sciences, primarily with a European focus. DANS is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO).

• Child Care and Early Education Research Connections Research Connections offers public access to child care and early education research data, some of which have never before been publicly available. Researchers can download analysis-ready data directly to their desktop or analyze selected data online free of charge. Data training workshops and an archive for research projects serve the entire field.

• National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities Connect with reports, data sets, and articles, and related sources on minority health and health disparities provided by NIMHD’s federal and non-federal partners and grantee institutions. This is not a comprehensive repository of information; instead, NIMHD highlights a few of the latest resources produced and links to organizations that are generating and posting new sources of information.

• The National Latino and Asian American Study (NLAAS) is a nationally representative community household survey that estimates the prevalence of mental disorders and rates of mental health service utilization by Latinos and Asian Americans in the United States. The central aims of the NLAAS were threefold. First, to describe the lifetime and 12-month prevalence of psychiatric disorders and the rates of mental health services use for Latino and Asian American populations using nationwide representative samples of these groups.

• Neuroscience Information Framework The Neuroscience Information Framework is a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet. Access datasets via the NIF Navigator at the right side of the page.

• Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL)  The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. On the Roper iPOLL page, you can search with keywords or filter by country, organization, etc.

Subscription

OVID provides access to Health and Psychosocial Instruments.

PsychARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 41 journals published by the American Psychological Association and eight journals from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage now spans from 1987 to the present.

PsycINFO Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, technical reports, dissertations, books and book chapters, covering the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Covers 1887 to present, updated weekly.

PsychoTherapy.net (Streaming video) streaming services for solo practitioners and multi-user institutions offering a library of over 350 training videos featuring the practitioners of our field.

• CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) CINAHL is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It has broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. This database provides indexing for thousands of journals with selected titles available in full text. Coverage commences with 1937.
• Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is a large multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 7300 peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Subjects includes adult education, arts education, child & adolescent psychology, child development, cognitive sciences, education policy, educational administration, educational psychology, educational technology, music education and much more.
• ProQuest Central ProQuest Central includes 47 complete databases in the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Science & Technology, Interdisciplinary and other fields. This resource features a highly-respected, diverse mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
• Google Scholar Google Scholar is a popular way to search for literature across a very broad range of publisher and subject content. You need to set up your Google Scholar preferences to search effectively and to allow unpaid University of Melbourne access.
• Web of Science An important interdisciplinary resource with 12,000 leading journals in science and social sciences (incl. Education research). Journal articles, conference proceedings and book series are included.

Subscription Databases

Ovid Health and Psychosocial Instruments. HaPI Information about health and psychosocial questionnaires, interview schedules, coding schemes, rating and other scales, and tests abstracted from leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Many of these instruments are not formally published and can only be found in journal articles on clinical medicine and the behavioral sciences. This comprehensive bibliographic database provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education.

Sources in the Library's Catalog

• Use these subject headings to view titles in the library catalog.

Educational tests and measurements.
Educational tests and measurements -- Bibliography.
Educational tests and measurements -- United States. 
Psychological tests.

Open Access Repositories

• Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences

  The site is designed to be a repository for instruments that are used to collect data from across the social sciences. Please use the site to discover instruments you can use in you own research.

• The Test Collection at ETS (Testlink)

  A database with descriptive and order information for more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices spanning from the early 1900's to the present. The information in this collection was acquired from U.S. publishers and individual test authors as well as some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia. Some test are available for purchase and for some tests, the database points to the article in which the test was published. You can search the UNT Libraries online articles tab by article title OR search the e-journals tab by journal name, to find a known article.

• PTSDpubs

  PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. This database offers a custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. The thesaurus includes specific PTSD symptoms, like hypervigilance, as well as terms such as PTSD (DSM-5) and PTSD (ICD-11) to help search by diagnostic criteria. It offers a detailed listing of tests and measures. Each record in PTSDpubs lists all instruments used within the publication, and users can search for publications that use a specific test or measure. PTSDpubs contains a comprehensive range of publication types, including journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations and cross-disciplinary coverage of all publications relevant to PTSD and psychological trauma. PTSDpubs does not limit its coverage to selected journals, but tries to include all relevant publications. Subjects include traumatic stress and mental health sequelae, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Dates of Coverage: 1871 - Current.

• Rehabilitation Measures Database

  "With more than 400 measures and supported by some of the worlds best doctors, clinicians, therapists and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation researchers, the Rehabilitation Measure Database (RMD) is the go-to resource for benchmarks and outcomes."

• Public Safety Risk Assessment Clearinghouse Tool Selector -- U.S. Bureau of Justice Assistance

  Department of Justice's Bureau of Justice Assistance provides a website devoted to public safety risk assessment instruments. Use the selector tool to learn details about each relevant assessment.

Useful Websites

• American Psychological Association. FAQ / Finding Information About Psychological Tests.

• American Psychological Association. Testing and Assessment

• Buros Center for Testing