Government Resources

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) Provides objective intelligence on foreign countries and global issues to the president, the National Security Council, and other policymakers to help them make national security decisions.

Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board (CSB) Is charged with investigating chemical incidents to determine the cause or probable cause. Headquartered in Washington, DC, the Agency's board members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Commission of Fine Arts (CFA) Is composed of seven members with expertise in the arts. Appointed by the President, Commission members serve four-year terms without compensation. The chairman and vice chairman are elected by the members.

Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) The mission of the is to promote the integrity, resilience, and vibrancy of the U.S. derivatives markets through sound regulation

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Implements and enforces Federal consumer financial law and ensures that markets for consumer financial products are fair, transparent, and competitive.

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) Works to save lives and keep families safe by reducing the unreasonable risk of injuries and deaths associated with consumer products and fulfilling its vision to be the recognized global leader in consumer product safety.

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) Is chartered with the responsibility recommendations and advice to the President and the Secretary of Energy regarding public health and safety issues at DOE defense nuclear facilities.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) Is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age, disability or genetic information.

Export-Import Bank of the United States (EXIM) Is an independent Executive Branch agency with a mission of supporting American jobs by facilitating the export of U.S. goods and services. 

Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Is the United States' primary authority for communications law, regulation and technological innovation. 

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Insures deposits; examines and supervises financial institutions for safety, soundness, and consumer protection; makes large and complex financial institutions resolvable; and manages receiverships.

Federal Election Commission (FEC) Is the independent regulatory agency charged with administering and enforcing transparency and fairly enforcing and administering federal campaign finance laws.

Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) Ensures the regulated entities fulfill their mission by operating in a safe and sound manner to serve as a reliable source of liquidity and funding for the housing finance market throughout the economic cycle.

Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) The mission is to protect rights and facilitate stable relationships among federal agencies, labor organizations, and employees while advancing an effective and efficient government.

Federal Trade Commission (FTC) The mission is to protect the public from deceptive or unfair business practices and from unfair methods of competition through law enforcement, advocacy, research, and education.

General Services Administration (GSA) The mission is to deliver the best customer experience and value in real estate, acquisition, and technology services to the government and the American people.

Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity.

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) The mission of IMLS is to advance, support, and empower America’s museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development.

Inter-American Foundation (IAF) Is an independent U.S. foreign assistance agency that directly invests in community-led grassroots development across Latin America and the Caribbean.

International Trade Commission (ITC) Investigates and makes determinations in proceedings involving imports claimed to injure a domestic industry or violate U.S. intellectual property rights; provide independent analysis and information on tariffs, trade and competitiveness; and maintain the U.S. tariff schedule.

John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts As a living memorial to President John F. Kennedy, they are a leader for the arts across America and around the world, reaching and connecting with artists, inspiring and educating communities.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Is responsible for the civil space program, aeronautics research, and space research.

National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) Is the nation's record keeper. Valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you. 

National Council on Disability (NCD) The Council is composed of nine members – four appointed by Congress and five appointed by the President. NCD provides advice to the President, Congress, and executive branch agencies to advance policy that promotes the goals of the Americans with Disabilities Act – equality of opportunity, economic self-sufficiency, independent living, and full participation in all aspects of society – regardless of type or severity of disability.

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) Protects the system of cooperative credit and its member-owners through effective chartering, supervision, regulation, and insurance.

National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Is the largest funder of the arts and arts education in communities nationwide and a catalyst of public and private support for the arts. By advancing equitable opportunities for arts participation and practice, the NEA fosters and sustains an environment in which the arts benefit everyone.

National Indian Gaming Commission (NIGC) adheres to the principles of good government, including transparency and agency accountability; promoting fiscal responsibility; operating with consistency and clarity to ensure fairness in the administration of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act; and respecting the capabilities and responsibilities of each sovereign tribal nation in order to fully promote tribal economic development, self-sufficiency, and strong tribal governments.

National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) Safeguards employees’ rights to organize, engage with one another to seek better working conditions, choose whether or not to have a collective bargaining representative negotiate on their behalf with their employer, or refrain from doing so.

National Mediation Board (NMB) Facilitates labor-management relations within the nation’s railroad and airline industries.

National Science Foundation (NSF) Supports science and engineering in all 50 states and U.S. territories. The NSF promotes the progress of science, advance the national health, prosperity and welfare, as well as securing the national defense.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Is a collegial body formulates policies, develops regulations governing nuclear reactor and nuclear material safety, issues orders to licensees, and adjudicates legal matters.

Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC) Plays a vital role in ensuring safe and healthy workplaces and working conditions for American workers. It provides fair and timely adjudication of work-related safety and health disputes between employers, employees or their representatives.

Office of Government Ethics (OGE) Leads and oversees the executive branch ethics program which is at work every day in more than 140 agencies. The executive branch ethics program works to prevent financial conflicts of interest to help ensure government decisions are made free from personal financial bias.

Peace Corps The mission is to promote world peace and friendship through community-based development and intercultural understanding.

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) Protects the retirement incomes of over 31 million American workers in private sector defined benefit pension plans. 

Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC) The mission is to ensure transparency and accountability of the U.S. Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system.

Railroad Retirement Board (RRB) The primary function is to administer comprehensive retirement-survivor annuities and unemployment-sickness benefits for the nation’s railroad workers and their families.

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)  works to make a positive impact on the U.S. economy, our capital markets, and people’s lives.

Small Business Administration (SBA) Aids, counsels, assists and protects the interests of small business concerns.

Social Security Administration (SSA) Administers retirement, disability, survivor, and family benefits, and enroll individuals in Medicare. It also provides Social Security Numbers, which are unique identifiers needed to work, handle financial transactions, and determine eligibility for certain government services.

United States African Development Foundation (USADF) Is an independent U.S. Government agency established by the U.S. Congress to support and invest in African-owned and African-led enterprises that improve the lives and livelihoods of people in underserved communities in Africa.

United States Commission on Civil Rights (USCCR) The mission is to inform the development of national civil rights policy and enhance enforcement of federal civil rights laws.

United States International Trade Commission (USITC) Investigates and makes determinations in proceedings involving imports claiming to injure a domestic industry or violating U.S. intellectual property rights; provides independent analysis and information on tariffs, trade and competitiveness; and maintains the U.S. tariff schedule.

United States Postal Service (USPS) Provides mail processing and delivery services to individuals and businesses in the U.S. The USPS is in charge of election mail, passports, and delivers election ballots nationally and abroad. 

United States Trade and Development Agency (USTDA) Helps companies create U.S. jobs through the export of U.S. goods and services for priority infrastructure projects in emerging economies.

Voice of America (VOA) Provides news, information, and cultural programming through the Internet, mobile and social media, radio, and television.