Today's Hours
Stay up-to-date with the SCOTUS by checking out the Press Releases, Media Advisories, and Speeches.
Activities for Students and Families introduces students, teachers, and families to some of the history and symbolism featured at the SCOTUS.
Unlike the Executive and Legislative Branches, whose members are elected into their positions, the members of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.
The Judicial Branch includes the Supreme Court and other federal courts.
It evaluates laws by:
Constitution Annotated (CONAN) Provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution.
Court Statistics Project (CSP) is the only source for an annual national overview of comparable state court caseload data.
Federal Judicial Center (FJC) is a research and education agency of the judiciary branch.
Fellows Program Founded in 1973, offers mid-career professionals, recent law school graduates, and doctoral degree holders from the law and political science fields an opportunity to broaden their understanding of the judicial system through exposure to federal court administration.
FindLaw contains a searchable database of SCOTUS decisions since 1760.
Glossary of Supreme Court Terms By SCOTUSblog.
iCivics works to inspire life-long civic engagement by providing high-quality and engaging civics resources to teachers and students across the nation.
Judicial Learning Center The mission is to promote public understanding of the function and value of the judicial branch of government, especially at the federal level.
Justia Law Provides free access to federal and state court decisions, as well as codes and regulations.
Law Library of Congress The mission of the Law Library of Congress is to provide authoritative legal research, reference and instruction services, and access to an unrivaled collection of U.S., foreign, comparative, and international law.
Legal Glossaries and Dictionaries This resource includes monolingual and bilingual reference materials for legal terminology developed by courts, court-stakeholders, and academic bodies. Languages range from Amharic to Western Armenian.
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay). This is a multimedia archive devoted to making the SCOTUS available to all. It is the most complete source for all of the Court's audio since the installation of a recording system in 1955.
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) Provides electronic public access to federal court records.
State Court Structures You can view the court structures of all U.S. States, Washington D.C., Guam and Puerto Rico.
Understanding State Courts Through the Court Statistics Project (CSP).
United States Courts Here you can search for a specific federal court as well as look at information pertaining to the Judicial Branch, judges, court records, reports, and statistics.
United States Court of Federal Claims Is authorized to hear primarily money claims founded upon the Constitution, federal statutes, executive regulations, or contracts, express or implied in fact, with the United States. Many cases before the court involve tax refund suits, an area in which the court exercises concurrent jurisdiction with the United States district courts.
United States Court of International Trade The Court serves an important judicial function, contributing to the rule of law through its significant responsibilities in the area of international trade.
The responsibility of the SCOTUS is "EQUAL JUSTICE UNDER LAW". This court is the highest tribunal in the nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution. Since it is the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution.
Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) Homepage Here you can find quick links, the SCOTUS calendar, recent decisions, as well as other resources.
About the Court Here you can find information relating to the present and past Justices, the Code of Conduct for Justices, History and Traditions and FAQ's.
Case Documents Here you can find the Docket Search (a list of all filings and rulings on that case). You can also find the case distribution schedule, where to find Briefs and other reports.
Constitution of the United States of America - Analysis and Interpretation, also know as the Constitution Annotated, encompasses the analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Filing and Rules Here you can submit an electronic filing, look at the rules and guidance, and there is information regarding the Supreme Court Bar.
News Media Here you can find Press Releases, Media Advisories, Speeches and more.
Opinions Is the term used to refer to the various writings by the Justices. Here you can find the Opinions of the Court, Opinions Relating to Orders, In-Chamber Opinions, U.S. Reports, and various citation sources.
Oral Arguments The arguments are an opportunity for the Justices to ask questions directly of the attorneys representing the parties to the case, and for the attorneys to highlight arguments that they view as particularly important. Here you can find the argument audio, transcripts, calendars and courtroom seating.
United States Reports The official opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court are available from the Library of Congress for years 1754-2003. U.S. To access reports on the Supreme Court for years 1991 to the most recent publication visit the SCOTUS website.
Orientation of the Constitution Annotated - Webinar (58 mins May 28, 2024)
Secrets of the Super Searchers III – Law - Webinar (59 mins September 12, 2023)