Rare Books & Manuscripts

The Cordell Collection of Dictionaries is one of the world’s largest collections of dictionaries, word books, and grammars.   Started by ISU alumni Warren Cordell, it was conceived as a working collection for the purpose of exploring the evolution of both the English language and lexicography itself.    While its  primary core is printed volumes books, it also includes microfilm, digital images, and archives. 

• The core of the Cordell Collection contains nearly 9400 titles in 302 languages, ranging from the early printing of the 15^th century to DVD-only published dictionaries of the 21^st century.   
• The Cordell Reference Collection contains reference materials intending to aid students investigating both the English language and lexicography.  It is located in the Special Collections Reading Room.
• Warren Cordell’s personal papers describe how he gathered his collection and the process by which  he donated it to the university.  They can provide researchers with insight into how the collection was conceived, the book markets of the 20^th century, and bibliophiles.
• Mitford Matthews was a lexicographer who edited the first dictionaries containing Americanisms, which are the contributions of the United States’ culture to the English language.  We hold not only examples of his work, but also working materials which demonstrate how dictionaries are put together.
• Laurence Urdang was a lexicographer and editor of The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, noted for integrating computers into the art of lexicography.  We have his personal papers and samples of his work.
• There are also reproduced articles on the Dictionary Wars  in the collection. The Dictionary War was a struggle between Noah Webster and Joseph Worcester in the 19^th century to determine which of their visions for dictionaries of American English would triumph, fought in newspapers and magazines. 
• The Collection also contains manuscripts dating from before the advent of the printing press to the 20^th century give more insight into alternative, personal visions of lexicography and its roots alongside microfilm (stored in the department and main stacks) on lexicographical research.
• The Weydling Collection, still under processing, features books on linguistics and language learning over many different languages.  

Special Collections provides multiple avenues for the exploration of these collections.  Not all of them can be reached through the main library database or the Shadows of the Wabash collection of digital resources.  We are constantly working to expand your means of gaining access.  For this collection:

• Under the Books, Journals and More tab on the library homepage. You can include the term "Cordell" in your searches of the main database.
• Under the Books, Journals and More tab on the library homepage, select Advanced Search.  You can limit searches to ‘Special Collections,’ which will allow you to find materials in our department.  You can add the term "Cordell" in your search parameters which will narrow it down even more.
• We have lists of subject headings used in our database and languages represented within the collection.
• Special Collections staff can be contacted through e-mail, phone, or LibChat to assist with research and make appointments to use the collection.

Ready to see this collection for yourself? You can come to visit us on the 3rd floor of the library, call us at 237-2610,

or e-mail us at Special-Collections@indstate.edu.