Rare Books & Manuscripts

Rare Books and Manuscripts not only preserves and provides access to uncommon published and unpublished material; the department also provides research assistance in the form of reference collections far more specific than the one found on the first floor of the library.  This collection includes materials on bibliography and book collecting, it also provides materials specifically chosen to help scholars study the materials in the department.

• While these materials can be found online on national websites, the department maintains a collection of hard-copy versions of the first twelve censuses of the United States.

Special Collections provides multiple avenues for the exploration of these collections.  Not all of them can be reached through the main library database or the Shadows of the Wabash collection of digital resources.  We are constantly working to expand your means of gaining access.  For this collection:

• Under the Books, Journals and More tab on the library homepage. You can include the term "special collections reference” in your searches of the main database.
• Under the Books, Journals and More tab on the library homepage, select Advanced Search.  You can limit searches to ‘Special Collections,’ which will allow you to find materials in our department.  You can add the term “reference” in your search parameters which will narrow it down even more.
• Special Collections staff can be contacted through e-mail, phone, or LibChat to assist with research and make appointments to use the collection.

Ready to see this collection for yourself? You can come to visit us on the 3rd floor of the library, call us at 237-2610,

or e-mail us at Special-Collections@indstate.edu.