If you are having difficulty accessing a library database, here are some steps you can try before calling the ISU Reference Desk 800-851-4279 or 812-237-2580. The library will go through these steps when you call to find out what the problem is and how they need to fix it.
A) Is the problem with your Sycamore Password? Go into your MyISU, change your password. Close and re-open your browser and try again.
B) Is the problem with a specific library database?
C) Is the problem with a specific Internet browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox)?
D) Delete cookies and try again.
Delete Internet Files and try again.
Clear your History and try again.
E) Is the problem your institution's firewall?
********************************
A) Your Sycamore Password cannot contain blanks or special characters. Change your password, if appropriate. Please go to the ISU portal (login page - isuportal.indstate.edu) and select Forgot/Change password.
- Password minimum length is 8 characters (maximum of 29 characters)
- Password must contain at least one numeric character
- Password must contain at least one upper case character
- Password must contain at least one lower case character
- Important note - Do not use the following special characters when creating your password: Space # ~ ^ * ? , : ; | " < > @ $ & ( ) ' =
B) Have you tried other databases? For example, have you tried both Ebsco and ProQuest? Sometimes an individual database does not work, and we must contact the company that owns the database. Which database are you trying to reach?
C) Have you tried another internet browser? For example, if you are using Internet Explorer, have you tried Firefox? Sometimes, files that are placed on your computer, called "cookies," become corrupt. Since the cookies are attached to the specific browser, using a different browser might help.
D) If all you have is Internet Explorer, have you tried deleting the cookies? In IE, click the Tools menu and choose Internet Options. Click Delete Cookies (and confirm). Then click Delete Files (and confirm--including offline files). Then click Clear History (and confirm). Reload the page, and try to login.
E) Are you trying to connect to the database using a company's Internet Connection? Some companies place tight restrictions on their firewall, which can make connecting to remote databases somewhat challenging. Are you able to connect from another location? If you are able to connect to the database from one location, but not another, we can take a good guess as to the cause of the problem. We cannot change the firewall settings of another institution.
