Today's Hours
The ISU Library does not have a subscription to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online. But a search of the HBCPO can tell in what section of the print Handbook you might find your desired information.
(From http://www.lib.ipfw.edu/2188.0.html by Stephanie Schulte, Helmke Library, IPFW)
Browse the table of contents and search the contents of the handbook at http://hbcponline.com/. Full text is not available online to Indiana State University, but the search feature may be helpful in locating information in the print volume.
Names of compounds in the CRC Handbook are generally the Chemical Abstracts name. This means that multi-part names are written in inverted order. Any number directly preceding the main system in the compound is included prior to the name.
Example: 4-phenyl-1,3-dioxane is listed as 1,3-Dioxane, 4-phenyl-
The following data and physical constants are included in Section 3 (organic compounds) and Section 4 (inorganic compounds).
Molecular Formula: In Hill order.
Chemical Abstracts Registry Number
Merck Number: Corresponds to the Merck Index entry.
Beilstein Reference: Citations to the Beilstein Handbook. Entries are in the form of a-bb-cc-ddddd where a is the series, b is the volume, c is the sub volume (if applicable), and d is the page number.
Solubility: Common solvents with solubility listed on a scale of 1 to 6, with 1 equal to insoluble and 6 equal to decomposes.
Molecular Weight: Calculated using IUPAC standard atomic weights.
Melting Point: In degrees Celsius.
Boiling Point: In degrees Celsius.
Density: Reported mass per unit volume (D=g/cm-3); true density, not specific gravity.
Refractive Index (organic compounds only): Values for solids and liquids at 589 nm unless otherwise noted. Temperature noted in superscript.
Physical Form (inorganic compounds only): Color and other features.
Synonym and Chemistry Abstract Registry Number Indexes are included for both organic and inorganic compounds. A molecular formula index is also included and uses Hill order.
Section 5 of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an important source of thermodynamic and electrochemical properties. Useful properties (at 298.15 K) include:
Standard enthalpy of formation DfH° in kilojoules per mole
Entropy S° in joules per K·mole
Standard Gibbs energy of formation DfG° in kilojoules per mole
Molar heat capacity at constant pressure Cp
Vapor pressures for more than 1,800 substances are included from 1 to 100,000 Pascals (about 7.5 µm to 750 mm of mercury) of pressure. The table lists the temperature in degrees Celsius at which the gas reaches the specified pressure.
Standard reduction potentials (E°) at 298.15 K (25° C) at 1 atmosphere of pressure are given for several reactions. This section also includes pH measurements for both buffer and aqueous solutions as well as dissociation constants for organic acids and bases.
