Cunningham Memorial Library: Music: Recommended Resources

For Bibliographies of Composers

See call number range: ML134.A to ML134.W

Fusion & Fusion +

Use the Fusion Plus catalog as your first option for locating books, scores, microfilms, journal titles (but NOT articles), sound recordings, and videos owned by Indiana State University, as well as Web-based resources that are accessible via the catalog (electronic books and journals, databases).

Fusion Plus Catalog
Best searching interface for scores, sound recordings, and other complex materials (such as microfilms of manuscripts). Multiple search boxes make exploratory keyword searching easier to enter. Make use of "Material Type", specifically Printed Music.
Fusion Catalog
Useful for finding books and the basics--often not the best path for locating scores, recordings, and microforms. Use this basic search when you already know what you want--working from citations or a bibliography, or other sources with precise information.

Music Chronologies

Twentieth century music by Richard Burbank
Call Number: ML197 .B85 1984

ISBN: 0871964643
Memorable Days in Music by Marion Elizabeth Cullen
Call Number: ML13 .C84

ISBN: 810802937
World chronology of music history by Compiled and edited by Paul E. Eisler. Foreword by Fritz Kramer
Call Number: ML161 .E4

ISBN: 0379160803
Calendar of Music and Musicians by Adele Manson
Call Number: ML161 .M16

ISBN: 0810813955
Music since 1900 by Nicholas Slonimsky
Call Number: ML197 .S634 1971
Tabulated Biographical History of Music by Oscar Thompson
Call Number: ML161 .T48T3

Musical Iconography

An Illustrated History of Music by Marc Pincherle
Call Number: ML160 .P513
A Pictorial History of Music by Henry Lang and Otto Bettmann
Call Number: ML89 .L3x

A history of music in pictures by Georg Kinsky
Call Number: ML89 .K62
Atlas historique de la musique: Historical Atlas of Music by Paul Collaer
Call Number: ML160 .C6813

Bibliographies: Early Music Sources

RISM - Répertoire international des sources musicales
Call Number: ML113 .I6

Bibliographies: Historical Sets, Collected Works, and Monuments of Music

Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents by Anna Harriett Heyer
Call Number: ML113 .H52 1980

ISBN: 083890288X
Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music : a bibliography by George R. Hill, Norris L. Stephens
Call Number: ML 113 .H55 1997

ISBN: 0914913220

General Music Bibliographies

Popular Titles and Subtitles of Musical Compositions by Freda Pastor Berkowitz
Call Number: ML113 .B39 1975
Popular Song Index by Patricia Pate Havlice
Call Number: ML128.S3 H4

Numerous Supplemental Materials Available

For Additional Resources, locate the "Music In Print" Series by searching the Fusion or Fusion+ catalog for title "Music in Print"

The index of American popular music; thousands of titles cross-referenced to our basic anthologies of popular songs: Blue book of Tin Pan Alley. Blue book Broadway musicals. Blue book Hollywood musicals. The melodies linger on. by Jack Burton
Call Number: ML120.U5 B92

Bibliographies: Thematic Catalogs

Thematic catalogues in music : an annotated bibliography by Barry Brooks
Call Number: ML 113 .B86 1997

ISBN: 091872886X

Indexes of Music Periodicals

Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale - RILM
Call Number: ML 1 .I83
The Music index
Call Number: ML 118 .M84

1949-1992 1994-2004 only - for more recent citations, search RILM online
Music periodical literature : an annotated bibliography of indexes and bibliographies by Joan M. Meggett
Call Number: ML128 .P24M43

ISBN: 081081109X

Guide to Music Reference and Research Materials

Duckles, Vincent H. Music Reference and Research Materials: an Annotated B Bibliography by Vincent Duckles
Call Number: ML 113 .D83 1997

ISBN: 0028708210

General Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians by edited by Don Michael Randel
Call Number: ML100 .H36 1999

ISBN: 0674000846
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians by edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001

ISBN: 1561592390

Also available Electronically: [Electronic Resources -> Database List -> Grove Music Online]
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart by Friedrich Blume
Call Number: ML100 .M93 1999

ISBN: 3476410102
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music by Michael Kennedy ; associate editor, Joyce Bourne.
Call Number: ML 100 .K35 1996

ISBN: 019280037X

Also available electronically: [Electronic Resources -> All Databases -> Oxford Reference Online]
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by advisory editors, Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone ; founding editors, James Porter and Timothy Rice
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998

ISBN: 0824060350

v. 1. Africa / Ruth M. Stone, ed. -- v. 2. South America, Mexico,Central America, and the Caribbean / Dale A. Olsen, ed. -- v.3. United States and Canada / Ellen Koskoff -- v. 4. Southeast Asia / Terry E. Miller and Sean Williams -- v.5. South Asia: the Indian Subcontinent / Alison Arnold -- v.6. Middle East / Virginia Danielson, Scott Marcus & Dwight Reynolds -- v.7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea / Robert C. Provine, Yoshihiko Tokumaru, and J. Lawrence Witzleben -- v. 8. Europe / Timothy Rice, James Porter, and Chris Goertzen, editors -- v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands / Adrienne L. Kaeppler and J.W. Love, ed. -- v.10. World's music: general perspectives and reference tools / Ruth M. Stone, ed.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by John Shepherd, David Horn and Dave Long
Call Number: ML102.P66 C66 2003

ISBN: 0826463215

v. 1 Media, History, and Society -- v. 2. Performance and Production - v.3 Caribbean and Latin America - v.4 North America - v.5 Asia and Oceania - v.6 Africa and the Middle East - v.7 Europe.