Today's Hours
Click the following links to search for book or journal titles.
What you are looking for can make a difference in where you should look. Different types of sources offer different information.
Reference Books:
Reference books, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, collect accepted facts from the established literature. In health and science, they can be huge and may take years to put together. Therefore, they do not contain the most current information, although they may mention studies that were recent at the the time of publication. But they are a good one-stop-shop to start learning the basics of a topic.
Books:
Books can be quite long and can cover a topic in detail. However, they take about a year to be published so they will not include the latest studies and research. Textbooks and encyclopedias are good for basic information. Further editions of books demonstrate that a source has been updated to reflect new information and may be a standard source in the field. Are there newer editions available?
Journals:
Journals are intended for professionals, experts, and researchers. Their articles are usually authored by professionals, experts, and researchers. Journal articles are relatively short compared to books so they tend to cover narrow, specific topics. The latest research is published in journals, but it can be difficult to find basic information in journals. Nowadays, most journals have a web site that allows viewing of the table of contents and summaries of articles. The majority of Journals today are collected electronically however we continue to preserve our older journals in paper and microformats. All Print Library Journals and Magazines except "Current Periodicals" are now located in the library basement.
Scientific journal articles can be difficult to understand if you don't already have a good background on a topic. Do you need to look at an encyclopedia article to get some background? Do you need to learn more depth about the topic to learn terminology and related theories?
Magazines:
Magazines are intended for popular consumption by the public. They contain the latest basic information. It can be difficult to obtain researched information from magazines. However, you can find news reports of research that contain clues that allow you to track down the original research article. Most ISU magazine subscriptions today are electronic, however, we do continue to preserve our older magazines in paper and microformats.All Print Library Journals and Magazines except "Current Periodicals" are now located in the library basement.
Databases:
Databases are very useful and efficient tools for searching for sources. Depending on the database, they may include journals, magazines, books, or other sources, too. Every database follows different rules for searching and storage. Effective use depends on knowing those rules. Some commercial databases provide only summaries of articles and do not include full text. Databases can be very expensive and may not be accessible to the general public.
Facts on File space and astronomy handbook by 
Observer's guide to astronomy by 
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of astronomy by 
History of astronomy : an encyclopedia by 
Cambridge encyclopedia of amateur astronomy by 
The illustrated encyclopedia of the universe by 
Norton's star atlas and reference handbook, epoch 2000.0. by Encyclopedia of cosmology : historical, philosophical, and scientific foundations of modern cosmology by 