Skip to Main Content
Indiana State University website
Today's Hours

Astronomy: Journals

Searching for Astronomy Journals

To search for specific ISU journal subscriptions, we recommend the following: 

  • On the ISU Library homepage, click Fusion Plus Advanced.
  • Search for the journal title as a Title and the term periodicals as a Subject.

Title: acta astronomica
AND
Subject: periodicals

Now, even this Fusion Plus journal search can be inexact. For titles like Science, it may retrieve a few book series as well as journals.  You may need to skim the Results list to find your journal title. But it often does narrow the results enough so that you can skim for your title. Print, electronic, and Remote Storage items will all be listed as separate records so you may have to click multiple records to verify access.

Astronomy in the ISU Library Catalog

Click the following links to search for book or journal titles.

About Journals

Journals:
Journals are intended for professionals, experts, and researchers. Their articles are usually authored by professionals, experts, and researchers. Journal articles are relatively short compared to books so they tend to cover narrow, specific topics. The latest research is published in journals, but it can be difficult to find basic information in journals. Nowadays, most journals have a web site that allows viewing of the table of contents and summaries of articles.  The majority of Journals today are collected electronically however we continue to preserve our older journals in paper and microformats.  All Print Library Journals and Magazines except "Current Periodicals" are now located in the library basement.

Scientific journal articles can be difficult to understand if you don't already have a good background on a topic. Do you need to look at an encyclopedia article first to get some background? Do you need to learn more depth about the topic to learn terminology and related theories?

Magazines:
Magazines are intended for popular consumption by the public. They contain the latest basic information.  It can be difficult to obtain researched information from magazines. However, you can find news reports of research that contain clues that allow you to track down the original research article.  Most ISU magazine subscriptions today are electronic, however, we do continue to preserve our older magazines in paper and microformats.All Print Library Journals and Magazines except "Current Periodicals" are now located in the library basement.

Databases:
Databases are very useful and efficient tools for searching for journal and magazine articles. Depending on the database, they may include journals, magazines, books, newspapers, or other sources, too. Every database follows different rules for searching and storage. Effective use depends on knowing those rules. Some commercial databases provide only summaries of articles and do not include full text. Databases can be very expensive and may not be accessible to the general public.

Astronomy Journals

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Shelley Arvin
Contact me for help. I will work with you to find the way to best help you. Options will consider appropriate agreeable and safe communication and location solutions for you. Email is a good way to contact me.

OFFICE HOURS
WED in HHS Building,
Student Lounge A-137 @ 10 AM.
***********
FRI in Science Building,
2nd Floor Lookout from 1-3 PM.
Other appointments as arranged.
Pro Re Nata Blog
Biology; Chemistry & Physics; Nursing; Applied Health Sciences; Applied Medicine & Rehabilitation; Kinesiology, Recreation, & Sport; Genetic Counseling;
Contact:
Cunningham Memorial Library, rm 113
1-812-237-2605
Website Skype Contact: shelley.arvin