Today's Hours
ProQuest is not a database. ProQuest is a vendor or "aggregator."
ProQuest is a company that provides several databases to ISU. ProQuest databases may be accessed and searched simlultaneously or individually through the ProQuest interface. The advantage to this is that you only need to learn one interface to search each databse. A caution, though, is that each database has its own special features unique to itself that may need to be considered when searching.
The following databases can be searched via ProQuest:
ProQuest Digital Microfilm is a browser based system that provides a simple and convenient way to access microfilm content in a digital format. ProQuest Digital Microfilm allows the user to retrieve, view, print and email specially digitized images from ProQuest microfilm. ISU Library patrons currently have access to the New york Times and Wall Street Journal from 2008 to the present. Please note that content is made available at the same time as corresponding microfilm reels, so the most recent issues may not yet be available in this format.
Search full text and images for more than 350 journals and magazines in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. Coverage ranges from 1994 to the present.
With more than 2.4 million entries, the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world. ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing group publishes more than 65,000 new dissertations and theses each year, with weekly updates to the PQDT database. Over 930,000 dissertations and theses are available in PDF format, and most include free twenty-four page previews.
A service provided to universities that actively publish their graduate students' dissertations and theses with ProQuest's UMI® Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Search for historical articles from The New York Times (1851-2001) and The Wall Street Journal (1889-1987). Available are full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases.