Today's Hours
Click the links to search for book or journal titles.The results below take you to publications that about mammals.
You may need to search for your specific mammal species, family or order.
Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, manuals, and other types of references.
Reference books are secondary or tertiary sources. They are not primary sources.
Beasts of Eden by 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by 
The Beginning of the Age of Mammals by 
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America by 
Encyclopedia of Life EOL by 
The Eponym Dictionary of Mammals by 
The Encyclopedia of Mammals by 
A Guide to the Mammals of China by 
A Field Guide to the Larger Mammals of Tanzania by Handbook of the mammals of the world (6 of 9 volumes published as of August 2017) is the baseline for mammal taxonomy by the Journal of Mammalogy.
Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 1: Carnivores by 
This link opens in a new window
Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 2: Hoofed Mammals by 
Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 3: Primates by This link opens in a new windowHandbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 4: Sea Mammals by Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 5: Monotremes and Marsupials by 
Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 6: Lagomorphs and Rodents I by Handbook of Mammals of the World - Volume 7: Rodents II by Handbook of the Mammals of the World – Volume 8: Insectivores, Sloths and Colugos by 
Handbook of the Mammals of the World – Volume 9: Bats by
Mammalogy by 
Robustness, Plasticity, and Evolvability in Mammals by 
Mammals of Indiana by 
Ecological and Behavioral Methods for the Study of Bats by 
Maternal Effects in Mammals by 
Walker's Mammals of the World by 
Mammals of North America by 
Mammals of Alabama by 
The Natural History of Canadian Mammals by 
Mammals of China by A Field Guide to the Larger Mammals of Tanzania by 
Animals of the Masai Mara by 
Animals of the Serengeti by 