Cunningham Memorial Library: Freshwater Systems: Journals

Recommended Science Databases

American Chemical Society Web Editions

Recommended databases are chosen because they may be standards in their field, may be larger, or may contain better quality information on average than the other database choices. This does not guarantee that they are the best choice for YOUR research topic.

Biological Abstracts
Primary biology database
GeoRef
Primary geology database
ProQuest Science Journals
SciFinder Scholar (Chem Abstracts)
Primary chemistry & physics database
Web of Knowledge
Web of Science (1984-present)

Additional Science Databases

AccessScience
AccessScience: The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

These databases were selected because they contain a significant amount of science content. Additional databases such as the general or multidisciplinary databases may contain good science journals, too. It is just that science is not a significant portion of their content.

AGRICOLA
all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
ASME Digital Library
art, science & practice of mechanical & multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences
Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service
Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics
CCOHS Web Information Service (formerly CCINFO)
Use the search box for FREE searching across the Web Collections. But you need a subscription to view some of the records that result from this search.
ChemBioFinder
Searching ChemBioFinder.Com is FREE with registration

more... less...

Was called Chemfinder
ChemIDplus Advanced
Numerous chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about the chemicals.

more... less...

Dictionary of over 380,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, structures). Includes links to NLM databases and other resources.
ChemIDplus Advanced
Advanced search with more search options

more... less...

ChemIDplus, but includes structure search and display for over 260,000 chemicals, too
ChemIDplus SuperList Locators
SuperList Name is the name used by a chemical list producer, e.g., EPA, FDA, and NCI. Lists of chemicals of interest to government agencies (part of ChemIDplus).
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
more... less...

Contains information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements
Drug Information Portal
more... less...

Gateway to drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Covers over 15,000 drugs from entry into clinical trials through entry in the market place.
EBSCO Animals
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Online
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
GeoScience World
Geoscience and earth science
GreenFILE
connections between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology
GREENR
(Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) sustainability and the environment
Health and Safety Science Abstracts (see ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Sci. Coll.)
Consumer Product Information Database
Potential health effects of chemicals in 26,000 common household products (for the public) and their ingredients. Was supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
JSTOR
Click Advanced Search and limit to the following journal sets as appropriate:
Astronomy,
Aquatic Sciences,
Biological Sciences,
Botany & Plant Sciences,
Developmental & Cell Biology,
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology,
General Science, Health Sciences,
History of Science & Technology,
Paleontology,
Zoology
NCBI Databases
Collection databases on of biomedicine, chemistry, genetics, proteomics, DNA, RNA, sequencing, etc.

more... less...

Entrez, the life sciences search engine, from National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Plants Database
vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
PubMed Central
free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. The full-text part of PubMed.
PubMed Entrez
Maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health, PubMed contains over 37 million records of content from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, preprints, and books. Over 5,000 biomedical journals are included. Some content back to 1781.
Science Citation Index Expanded (1984-present)
Subset science database of Web of Science, it includes Agriculture, Neuroscience, Astronomy, Oncology, Biochemistry, Pediatrics, Biology, Pharmacology, Biotechnology, Physics, Chemistry, Plant Sciences, Computer Science, Psychiatry, Materials Science, Surgery, Mathematics, Veterinary Science, Medicine and Zoology.
ScienceDirect
all fields of science
Sigma-Aldrich
Chemical catalog, includes MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)
TOXNET
TOXNET HAS MOVED - list of databases which absorbed TOXNET content. Toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Tree of Life
The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Several patent search databases. If you are unsure, try the Patent Public Search.
Water Resources of the United States
Wiley Interscience
Wiley is a prominent science publisher of journals and books. Wiley Interscience covers science, as well as other disciplines.
Zoological Record
animal biology

Search for Water Publications

LOC Subject Headings for Aquatic Biology Journals
Aquatic Biology--Periodicals

Click the links to search for book or journal titles

LOC Subject Headings for Aquatic Biology
Library of Congress Subject Headings for Aquatic Biology
LOC Subject Headings for Aquatic Ecology Journals
Aquatic Ecology--Periodicals
LOC Subject Headings for Aquatic Ecology
Library of Congress Subject Headings for Aquatic Ecology

Water-Related Journals

Journal of environmental quality by American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals - Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 15372537

Publication Date: Print began with v. 1, published in 1972
Limnology and oceanography by American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals GC 1 .L5

ISBN: 0024-3590

Publication Date: v. 1- Jan. 1956-
Journal of water and environment technology by Japan Society on Water Environment
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1348-2165

Publication Date: Began with: Vol. 1, no. 1 (2003).
Journal of water and health by IWA Pub
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1477-8920

Publication Date: Vol. 1, issue 1 (Mar. 2003)-
Air, soil and water research by Libertas Academica
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1178-6221

Publication Date: Began with: 1 (2008).
Journal of applied ecology by Blackwell Scientific
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1365-2664

Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (May 1964)-
Freshwater biology by Blackwell Science
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1365-2427

Publication Date: Print began in 1971.
Knowledge and management of aquatic ecosystems by EDP Sciences
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1961-9502

Publication Date: Began with: No. 388 (2008).
Aquaculture research by Blackwell Science
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1365-2109

Publication Date: Print began with vol. 26, no. 1 (Jan. 1995).
Ground water by Blackwell Pub
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1745-6584

Publication Date: Print began with vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1963).
Aquatic ecology by Kluwer Academic Publishers
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1386-2588

Publication Date: Print began with vol. 31, no. 1 (1997).
Aquatic ecosystem health & management by Taylor & Francis
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1463-4988

Publication Date: Print began with vol. 1, no. 1 (1998).
Canadian journal of fisheries and aquatic sciences by National Research Council Canada
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1205-7533

Publication Date: Began with v. 37 (Jan. 1980).
Aquatic living resources by Gauthier-Villars
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 1765-2952

Publication Date: Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan./Mar. 1988).
Aquatic living resources by Gauthier-Villars
Call Number: ISU Electronic Periodicals Library Electronic Resources

ISBN: 0990-7440

Publication Date: Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan./Mar. 1988).
American midland naturalist by University of Notre Dame
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) - QH 1 .A35 v.141-142 1999

ISBN: 0003-0031

Publication Date: v. 1, no. 5- Dec. 1909-
Journal of aquatic animal health by American Fisheries Society
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) 120 .J68

ISBN: 0899-7659

Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 1989)-
Hydrobiologia by W. Junk
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) QH90 .H9

ISBN: 0018-8158

Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (15 VIII 1948)-
North American journal of fisheries management by American Fisheries Society
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) SH 219 .N678

ISBN: 0275-5947

Publication Date: v.1 (1981)-
Water, air, and soil pollution by Kluwer Academic Publishers
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) TD 172 .W36

ISBN: 0049-6979

Publication Date: v. 1- Nov. 1971-
Environmental science & technology by American Chemical Society
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) TD 180 .E5

ISBN: 0013-936X

Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1967)-
Water research by Pergamon Press
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) TD420 .W37

ISBN: 0043-1354

Publication Date: v. 1- Jan. 1967-
Proceedings of the Indiana Academy of Science by Indiana Academy of Science
Call Number: ISU Main Library Stacks Q 11 .I38

ISBN: 00736767

Publication Date: 1885-

Individual issues may be available in print or online.