Today's Hours
Earth & Environmental Sciences
Penn State Repository of Open Materials
A collection of OER courseware (lectures, slides, syllabi, and modules) from Pennsylvania State University's department of Earth and Mineral Sciences.
Open Geography Textbooks
Including titles: Introduction to Geography, Historical Geology, Introduction to Mineralogy
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit (Case Studies)
Explore case studies to see how people are building resilience for their businesses and in their communities. Click dots on the map below to preview case studies, or browse all case studies by clicking the button below the map.
National Academies Press - ForestryOpen Access
Free online texts on Forestry from the National Academies Press.
Pressbooks Earth & Environmental Sciences OER guide
A collection of open resources from across pressbooks including Textbooks, lab manuals, data & image repositories, videos, and other courseware.
Physics & Chemistry
College Physics PressBooks Open Textbook
College Physics is organized such that topics are introduced conceptually with a steady progression to precise definitions and analytical applications. The analytical aspect (problem solving) is tied back to the conceptual before moving on to another topic. Each introductory chapter, for example, opens with an engaging photograph relevant to the subject of the chapter and interesting applications that are easy for most students to visualize.
Open Michigan General Physics Open Course
Physics 140 offers introduction to mechanics, the physics of motion. Topics include: linear motion, vectors, projectiles, relative velocity and acceleration, Newton's laws, particle dynamics, work and energy, linear momentum, torque, angular momentum, gravitation, planetary motion, fluid statics and dynamics, simple harmonic motion, waves and sound. Includes creative commons licensed exams, learning objects, and lectures.
OER Commons Physics collection
A repository of open physics resources including courses, videos, texts, simulations, and more.
Organic Chemistry Pressbooks Open Textbook
Suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.
OpenChem
Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials featuring the complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures from UC Irvine. Any of UCI's OpenChem materials are immediately available for use by institutions or individual professors teaching their own courses.
Chemistry I Laboratory Manual
This lab manual accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, stoichiometry, determining limiting reactants and more to complement an introductory chemistry course.
Pressbooks Chemistry OER guide
A collection of open resources from across pressbooks including Textbooks, lab manuals, data & image repositories, videos, and other courseware.
Rice University founded OpenStax press in 2011 to create peer-reviewed, high-quality textbooks under a Creative Commons license. The textbooks also come with other class materials like homework ideas and study guides. They are releasing new subjects each semester, so the collection is slowly growing.
All of these textbooks can also be customized, or used as is.
|
|
|
|
Merlot offers a variety of learning materials: lesson plans, images, videos, syllubi, quizzes and exams, and even textbooks. Items contributed to the Merlot site are peer reviewed by an editorial board.
While you can search all of Merlot, here are some collections that serve as portals to discipline specific materials.
This repository is a consortium of European partners, so the materials are in different languages. You can search for individual objects (educational content) or a collection of materials in a topic (educational pathway). All the material is user-contributed.
Features:
NOTE: You must sign up for a free account to actually see the content. Without an account, you can search the repository, but you cannot see the actual content.
screen shot of an educational pathway to explore CERN:
The Open Access Directory is a wiki that indexes OA materials all over the web. They include the following general resources for Math and Science OERs.
The Khan Academy offers pre-recorded lectures on a variety of math and science topics. All of the videos are accessible via YouTube or even downloadable, and can be embedded in your Blackboard course. While many of the courses are directed at K-12 students, some still cover topics that are still applicable to college-level courses.
Additionally, they offer on-line practice and even ways for teachers to track student progress.
This site has a lot more to offer than just online lectures!
The Saylor Foundation hosts nearly 300 full courses in a variety of topics.
The course outlines and syllubi are all CC-licensed by Saylor, so you are free to use, remix, repost, etc.
However, some of the source materials are protected under different licenses, so please check the copyright status before you use it. Saylor.org's website has more detailed information on the copyright status of their materials.
