MEDLINE: EBSCO

EBSCO is not a database. EBSCO is a vendor or "aggregator" of multiple databases.

EBSCOhost is a company that provides many databases to ISU. EBSCO databases may be accessed and searched simlultaneously or individually through the EBSCO interface. The advantage to this is that you only need to learn one interface to search each database. A caution, though, is that each database has its own special features unique to itself that may need to be considered when searching.

EBSCOhost databases include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Clinical Pharmacology, Corporate ResourceNet, EBSCO Animals, ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GeoRef, Health Business FullTEXT, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Knight Ridder Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Middle Search Plus, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORT Discus.

MEDLINE via EBSCOhost contains abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 publications found in Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature; additional table of contents information for 2,400 titles, provided by the British Library Document Supply Center; Comprehensive MEDLINE is available in specific year subsets dating back to 1966. MEDLINE via EBSCOhost includes content to the present, but new journal issues are not always added immediately after publication.

DO ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING, AS APPROPRIATE
Check the box beside EBM Reviews.
Select the Subject Subset of Systematic Reviews.
Select a Publication Type of Systematic Review.
Select a Publication Type of Meta-Analysis.
Select a Publication Type of Guideline.
Select a Publication Type of Practice Guideline.
Select a Publication Type of Randomized Controlled Trials.

Finding research articles in MEDLINE.
For general research articles,...
Click "Search options"
In the "Publication Type" box, select "Research"
Click Search.

or

Click "MeSH 2023" at the top of the screen.
Type: RESEARCH.
Click Browse.
CLICK on the link "RESEARCH"
Scroll down. Do you see all of the different types of research that can be searched?
Check box in front of "RESEARCH"  To the right, check the box for Explode.
Click "Search Database."

Finding quantitative research articles in MEDLINE.     
Click "MeSH 2023" at the top of the screen.
Type: QUANTITATIVE.
Click Browse.
Check box in front of "Quantitative Studies."
Click "Search Database."

Finding qualitative research articles in MEDLINE.     
Click: "MeSH 2023" at the top of the screen
Type: QUALITATIVE.
Click Browse.
Check box in front of "Qualitative Research" To the right, check the box for Explode.
Click "Search Database."

Finding publications that use specific methodologies in MEDLINE.
Click: "MeSH 2023" at the top of the screen
Type: INVESTIGATIVE TECHNIQUES.
Click Browse.
CLICK on the link "Investigative Techniques."
See all of the different types of methodologies that can be searched?
Check box in front of "Investigative Techniques." To the right, check the box for Explode.
Click "Search Database."

Image Quick View inserts article images directly onto each Result List, for instant access to the enlarged image.Also available from the EBSCOhost New Features page where users can learn about and sample newly released features, Image Quick View adds pertinent thumbnail images such as charts, photos, maps and illustrations, from over 3,300 journals, to Result List items. Full-sized images can be viewed by simply clicking on any thumbnail image in the Result List, without opening the record first, providing users with instant views of the article's image content.

Entry into EBSCO databases with unique feature:

• Enter search terms.
• Articles with images, including photos, charts, graphs, etc. will appear on the View. So, not only might the article itself be of use to you, but there is an image associated with the article that you might be able to use to fulfill this requirement. You can move from database to database once inside this EBSCO link.

This is different from the above search. From most EBSCOhost databases, you can reach a separate database containing photographs. Link in via Academic Search Premier. Find this link in the headers [images forthcoming]: 

You can search the entire collection, or specify

• photos of people
• photos of places
• natural science
• maps
• flags
• historical photos

You can also look for a specific type:

• black/white photo
• color
• graph
• map
• chart
• diagram
• illustration

Open the image link as you would an article link. Email or Download the Record, with a link back to the Image. Right click' to save the actual image. Save a copy of the Persistent link to each image.

Below is an example of a search hedge to find qualitative studies. Other search hedges for qualitative studies exist. There is not One Right Way to search. 

(MH "Interviews as Topic") OR (MH "Focus Groups")  OR (MH "Narration") OR (MH "Qualitative Research") OR (TI "semi-structured") OR (AB "semi-structured") OR (TI semistructured) OR (AB semistructured) OR (TI unstructured) OR (AB unstructured) OR (TI structured) OR (AB structured) OR (TI informal) OR (AB informal) OR OR (TI "in-depth") OR (AB "in-depth") OR (TI indepth) OR (AB indepth) OR OR (TI "face-to-face") OR (AB "face-to-face") OR (TI guide) OR (AB guide) OR (TI guides) OR (AB guides) OR (TI interview*) OR (AB interview*) OR (TI discussion*) OR (AB discussion*) OR (TI questionnaire*) OR (AB questionnaire*) OR (TI "focus group") OR (AB "focus groups") OR (TI qualitative) OR (AB qualitative) OR (TI ethnograph*) OR (AB ethnograph*) OR (TI fieldwork) OR (AB fieldwork) OR (TI "field work") OR (AB "field work") OR (TI "key informant") OR (AB "key informant")