Skip to Main Content
Indiana State University website
Today's Hours
Cunningham Memorial Library (Physical Location) 7am – 10pm
Circulation Desk 7am – 10pm
Research & Instruction By Appointment
Administration Office 8am – 4:30pm
Special Collections 8am – 4:30pm
Technical Services 8am – 4:30pm
Writing Center By Appointment

Education Graduate Students: Education Law and Policy

Federal

Federal regulations relating to Education can be found in the following materials.


Federal Register   HSSE REF 353.005 Un34

Code of Federal Regulations  HSSE REF 353.005 C64

(CFR)(Title 34)

List of Sections Affected (LSA)   HSSE REF 353.005 C64LSA

Regulations.gov (Comment on proposed federal regulations.)

Onilne Publications

Other useful federal and state education publications:

HathiTrust Catalog (Selected records from CIC Institutions)(NEW)

Indiana School Statistical Report HSSE REF 370.9772 In145s
Condition of Education HSSE REF 370.973 C752
Digest of Education Statistics HSSE REF 370.973 Un3de
Projections of Education Statistics HSSE REF 370.32 Un3

Youth Indicators

Race to the Top Fund (Obama Administration)

 HSSE DOC ED 1.327:
Statistical Abstract of the United States HSSE REF 317.3 ST2g & (Also in CD-ROM) HSSE DOC C 3.134:

House Appropriations Committee
Rep. Peter Visclosky (D-IN) is a member of this committee.

HERE for selected Hathitrust fulltext catalog records.

 HSSE MF Y 4.AP 6/1:L 11/

House Committee on Education and Workforce

HERE  and HERE for selected Hathitrust fulltext catalog records.

Reps. Larry Buschon (R-IN) and Todd Rokita (R-IN) are members of this committee.

 HSSE DOC Y 4.ED 8/1:

Senate Appropriations Committee
Appropriations committee publications are excellent sources of project expenditure information.

HERE for selected Hathitrust fulltext catalog records.

 HSSE MF Y 4.AP 6/2:

Senate Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Committee

HERE and HERE for selected fulltext Hathitrust catalog records.

   FindLaw's Education Law Center provides helpful information, resources and answers to frequently asked questions by parents, students, teachers, and school administrators.

Legal Information Institute. From Cornell University is a free-access site serving as a gateway to US and state laws (linking to the US. Code, The Code of Federal Regulations), court opinions and current awareness on legal issues. Search feature and links to Key and all US Supreme Court opinions, federal courts opinions, etc. Highlights recent law events and opinions.

eResources

WestLaw Campus The database of choice for ISU legal research

ebooks available through the library

West's encyclopedia of American law ebook

Legal Databases

LexisNexis Academic provides access to legal, news, business, health, and reference information. It contains full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles and U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, newsletters & journals.  Please see Education Law Wiki or LexisNexis Tutorial  (You Tube Video) for tips on how to use LexisNexis Academic.  If you are looking for a Florida case, please select the following link -- Florida Case Law.

Westlaw Campus a web-based legal research tool. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.