Science Databases: ScienceDirect

1. Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/ 
2. Under Find, Click Electronic Resources.
3. Scroll down and click ScienceDirect Journals
4. Click the Register link in the upper right-hand corner.
   The registration form is a typical online registration form. You must fill in all required fields, and of course, you will have to select a password.
5. Upon registering, an e-mail will be sent to the e-mail address you specified confirming your registration. You will receive a User Name generated by ScienceDirect in the e-mail.
6. Once you’ve registered, you may login to search and retrieve full-text from ScienceDirect.

Due to restructuring, the ISU Library is making changes to ScienceDirect access. The ScienceDirect transactional access will now be managed and mediated by library employees.

The full-text of ScienceDirect articles and book chapters will be available by

1. direct download of full-text to get  articles from ISU subscriptions or chapters from ISU owned e-books
2. the Interlibrary Loan service to get non-subscribed or non-owned articles, chapters, or books.

1. Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/ 
2. Under Find, Click Electronic Resources (Articles).
3. Click All Databases A-Z.
4. Scroll down and click ScienceDirect.
   1. If you are off campus, you will be asked to login with your ISU username and password.
5. In the top right corner should be the following words: Brought to you by: Indiana State University | Cunningham Memorial Library
6. In ScienceDirect, click the Sign In link in the upper right-hand corner.
7. A box will appear for you to enter your ScienceDirect username and password.
8. Sign in.  The Sign In box will disappear and be replaced by a note that you are logged in.

If you forget to login to ScienceDirect with your ScienceDirect username and password, you may search the database but you cannot access full-text with Transactional Access. You may login at any time while searching ScienceDirect.

ARE YOU ASKED TO PAY FOR THE ARTICLE? 

If you’ve gone through the above steps and are prompted to pay for your article,

• Do you see the words in the top right corner: Brought to you by: Indiana State University | Cunningham Memorial Library
  You may have accessed ScienceDirect without going through the ISU Library's Web site. In that case, you need to go to the ISU Library homepage and enter ScienceDirect via the Databases A-Z List.
  
• Did you register with ScienceDirect? Follow the registration instructions above.
• Did you forget to Sign In to ScienceDirect? Click Sign In in the upper right corner of the Web page.

IF THAT DOESN'T WORK

• The ISU Library account may need to be refreshed. Notify the Library and we will address it.

SO, NOW WHAT?

• Request your article via Interlibrary Loan at http://illiad.indstate.edu/logon.html. Our ILL staff will get the article for you. It may occur immediately or it may take a few days.

If your journal title should be available in full-text to ISU, then you need to contact a Research/Instruction Librarian for assistance in troubleshooting the problem. You can do this via our online chat, email [Ask a Librarian], by calling the Information Desk at 812-237-2580, or by asking in person at the Desk.