Earth & Environmental Systems: Geography

ISU Department of Earth & Environmental Systems - "... provides students with the opportunity to explore a wide range of environmental, earth, and human systems. Anthropologists, geographers, and geologists, investigate fundamental questions that relate directly to the mechanics of the Earth’s physical processes, the spatial organization of societies, the study of human diversity, and the interaction between people and their environment."

Association of American Geographers - "For more than 100 years the AAG has contributed to the advancement of geography. Its members from more than 60 countries share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography, which they cultivate through the AAG's Annual Meeting, scholarly journals (Annals of the Association of American Geographers, The Professional Geographer and AAG Review of Books), and the online AAG Newsletter."

• Academic Search Complete - A general-interest EBSCO academic database which includes a lot of info on geography, meteorology and climatology.  
• Earthshots - Produced by the US Geological Survey,Earthshots uses Landsat data to document how people and nature are changing the surface of the planet.  Each Earthshot page outlines the changes revealed by the satellite images to a particular location.  The data go back to 1972.  
• Gale's Environmental Studies - considers these topics from a worldwide perspective.  It indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, videos and other resources.  An unusual feature is its interactive world map which permits you to focus on a particular area.  This is a fine source for sustainability issues.
• GeoRef - Closely related to GeoScienceWorld (below), this ProQuest database contains links to numerous articles on geology and geophysics.  Many citations appear in both GSW and in GeoRef.  Coverage is from 1785 to the present.
• GeoScienceWorld - Although GSW's focus is on geology, there's a lot of geographical information available too.  Prefer the "advanced search." You can search by keyword, title, author or by a term in the GSW thesaurus.  There are also options to limit your search by latitude and longitude.  Some articles date back to 1669!  This databse has a lot of overlap with GeoRef. 

• GreenFILE - This EBSCO database covers how humans affect the environment.  You can use its subject terms to narrow your search, and you can limit your results to scholarly articles as well.  It addresses the environment's connections to other discuples such as agriculture, heath and technology.  It indexes more than 200 journals, government documents and reports. 

• ISI Web of Science (also called the Web of Knowledge) - This database is especially valuable for determining who's citing an article you found useful.  Chances are, the articles which cite an article you like will be useful for your research, too.  You can search by topic, author and more.  Coverage goes back to 1984.  

• JSTOR - Great for older materials!  Coverage extends back into the 19th Century and even earlier.  Use "Advanced Search" and select "Geography" journals. You may find other subject headings relevant as well. 

• ProQuest Environmental Science Collection - This collection contains environmental science related full-text articles.  You can also acceess figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and items from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from more than 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

• Sycamore Scholars - A data repository featuring the work of faculty, staff and students at ISU.  This is a great place to look for recent ISU theses and dissertations.  

• USGS Map Locator & Downloader - A place to find and download maps.  Some are free; some are not.  

• Water Resources of the United States - Maintained by the US Geological Survey, its mission is to "collect and disseminate reliable, impartial, and timely information that is needed to understand the nation's water resources."