Earth & Environmental Systems: Anthropology

ISU Department of Earth & Environmental Systems - "... provides students with the opportunity to explore a wide range of environmental, earth, and human systems. Anthropologists, geographers, and geologists, investigate fundamental questions that relate directly to the mechanics of the Earth’s physical processes, the spatial organization of societies, the study of human diversity, and the interaction between people and their environment."

American Anthropological Association - "Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology. ... . In Richard B. Woodbury's words, '. . .the AAA has remained the central society for the discipline, addressing with considerable success its increasingly varied interests and speaking for anthropology to other fields, the federal and state governments, and the public' (Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology, 1994)."  AAA journals inlcude Anthropology News, American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Economic Anthropology, General Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology and many more.  

Society for American Archaeology - "The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. With more than 7,000 members, the society represents professional, student, and avocational archaeologists working in a variety of settings including government agencies, colleges and universities, museums, and the private sector."  Publications inlcude Advances in Archaeological Practice, American Antiquity, Latin American Antiquity and The SAA Archaeological Record.

Electronic Books (eBooks) and print books are accessible through the library's online catalog.   

If you know the citation of your article, you have two choices:

1. You can check to see whether we have access to an electronic version of your article.  From the library's home page, click on "Articles and Databases" below the image.  Then, click on the "Electronic Resources Home" link under the Search button.   (Here's a shortcut.)  In the goldenrod area marked "Find e-journals, eBooks, and media by title or identifying number," enter the first few words of the title of the journal you want. (Make sure the drop-down menu reads "Title begins with."   If we have it, you'll be taken to a page with links to databases that provide access to your journal.  Just pick one that includes the date of your article. 
2. If we don't have electronic access, we may still have access to a print version of the journal.  Simply search Fusion or Fusion Plus (see above) for the journal title.  Once you've located the journal, note the call number, find the correct volume/issue or year and proceed to your article.  Nearly all bound print and microform periodicals are in the library's basement, two floors below ground level. 

If you're searching by subject, the best way to retrieve articles is through a database which indexes the articles in the subject literature.  The best anthropological/ethnographic database we have is:

• Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF): World Cultures - "eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords."  Searching this database is not very intuitive, but the wealth of information makes it well worth getting to know.  Fortunately, it has help screens.  There are links in the database to eHRAF Archaeology, to which ISU lacks a subscription.  Attempting to access it will bring you to a login screen which won't work for you unless you have a personal subscription.  We also have a separate Library Guide for Human Relations Area Fiiles.  

The following databases are not exclusively dedicated to anthropology or archaeology, but they do index useful articles:

• Academic Search Complete - A general-interest EBSCO academic database which includes a lot of info on geography, meteorology and climatology.  

• Earthshots - Produced by the US Geological Survey,Earthshots uses Landsat data to document how people and nature are changing the surface of the planet.  Each Earthshot page outlines the changes revealed by the satellite images to a particular location.  The data go back to 1972.  
• Gale's Environmental Studies - considers these topics from a worldwide perspective.  It indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, videos and other resources.  An unusual feature is its interactive world map which permits you to focus on a particular area.  This is a fine source for sustainability issues.
• GeoRef - Closely related to GeoScienceWorld (below), this ProQuest database contains links to numerous articles on geology and geophysics.  Many citations appear in both GSW and in GeoRef.  Coverage is from 1785 to the present.
• GeoScienceWorld - Although GSW's focus is on geology, there's a lot of geographical information available too.  Prefer the "advanced search." You can search by keyword, title, author or by a term in the GSW thesaurus.  There are also options to limit your search by latitude and longitude.  Some articles date back to 1669!  This databse has a lot of overlap with GeoRef. 

• GreenFILE - This EBSCO database covers how humans affect the environment.  You can use its subject terms to narrow your search, and you can limit your results to scholarly articles as well.  It addresses the environment's connections to other discuples such as agriculture, heath and technology.  It indexes more than 200 journals, government documents and reports. 

• ISI Web of Science (also called the Web of Knowledge) - This database is especially valuable for determining who's citing an article you found useful.  Chances are, the articles which cite an article you like will be useful for your research, too.  You can search by topic, author and more.  Coverage goes back to 1984.  

• JSTOR - Great for older materials!  Coverage extends back into the 19th Century and even earlier.  Use "Advanced Search" and select "Anthropology" or "Archaeology" journals. You may find other subject headings relevant as well. 

• Sycamore Scholars - A data repository featuring the work of faculty, staff and students at ISU.  This is a great place to look for recent ISU theses and dissertations.  

• USGS Map Locator & Downloader - A place to find and download maps.  Some are free; some are not.  

Still not finding anything?  One nearly sure-fire way to get a lot of hits is to use:

• SycaMORE Research - This is the first search box you come to on the library's home page.  It's not a bad place to start when you don't have a clear idea what you want.  It produces a very broad search, including dozens of databases as well as our online book catalog, to bring you articles, books, streaming video and more..  Search as specifically as possible.  It can give you thousands - even millions - of hits, but if you're not careful, many will be irrelevant or only marginally relevant.  You'll probably have better luck if you use SycaMORE Research's Advanced Search.

ENVI 493 – Kathleen Heath

1/23/20

1. Intro
   1. Remember ways to get help in the library:
      1. Ref Desk
      2. Phone
      3. Email
      4. Live chat
      5. LibGuides – also called “Subject Guides” and “Library Guides”
         1. Probably most relevant to this class links available on home page:
            1. Subject Guides
            2. Use search box
               1. Human Relations Area Files
               2. Earth & Environmental Systems – Anthropology tab
               3. ii.SPSS

2.Writing Center

3.CRAAP test – click on Shelley Arvin, or search for CRAAP Test: Scholarly/Popular in LibGuides

a.Explain the points

i.Currency

ii.Relevance

iii.Authority

iv.Accuracy

v.Purpose

b.Compare www.globalclimatescam.com and https://insideclimatenews.org

2.Do you all know not to stop with Google or even Google Scholar? 

a.Most people start out with Google

i.Learn to search it well – www.google.com/advanced_search

ii.Don ‘t forget the internet filter bubble – pumps vs. pumps

iii.www.duckduckgo.com – no filter bubble; doesn’t track you.  Same for www.startpage.com, which uses Google’s indexing

iv.Remember: if the service is free, YOU’RE the commodity!

v.Searches:

1.“sustainable urban agriculture”

2.Climate change deniers

b.Google Scholar: scholar.google.com

i.Not a bad place to start; can search across disciplines easily

ii.Can get to Scholar’s Advanced Search by clicking the drop-down arrow

iii.Note you have number of choices:

1.ALL – Boolean AND

2.Exact phrase

3.At least one of the words – Boolean OR

4.Without the words – Boolean NOT

5.Your words can occur anywhere in the article or in the title

6.You can specify:

a.Author – but what’s the correct form of the name?

b.Journal title – but what’s the correct form of the title?

c.Date – year only

iv.Sample searches

1.It’s smart enough to often know whether we subscribe to something here

a.Note you’re actually using the ISU library in some cases.

3.Quick mention of Fusion

a.Facets

b.Limitations

c.FusionPlus is better

i.Fields

ii.LCSH

1.Anthropologists

2.Anthropology

3.Anthropology, Cultural

4.The subheading “—Anthropological aspects” following another subject

iii.* , ? “”

4.Human Relations Area Files: World Cultures

a.Great info; confusing interface!

b.Indexes books by paragraph

c.Note the options on the ribbon near the top

i.Basic Search:

1.Just enter terms – can limit to keywords only.  E.g. “Native Americans” – 902 paragraphs

ii.Advanced Search: Search by culture, subject and keywords

1.Choose the culture – will guide you to correct heading

2.Add subject – default is “OR” – you’ll probably want to change that to “AND.”  Major subjects have subcategories

3.Add keywords if desired – not necessary

4.Sometimes there are no hits because nothing’s been published in that area. 

5.Example:

a.Cultures by region: North America.  Select “Eastern Woodlands”  Click on Add Cultures.

b.Subjects: Choose ALL and click on Add Subjects.

c.Keywords: Indiana Illinois Kentucky with OR

d.Retrieves 569 paragraphs in 101 documents in 8 cultures

iii.Browse Cultures

1.Can either enter a name or brows an alphabetical index.

2.Each culture has a summary, collection description and set of collection documents

iv.Browse Subjects

1.Good for seeing how various topics relate across cultures

v.Browse Documents

1.Arranged by author

5.GreenFile

a.EBSCOhost database – works the same as the others such as Academic Search Complete, MEDLINE, etc. 

2. AND, OR, NOT – AND is default (like Google)
3. Proximity searching

i.Nx – find terms within x words of each other, regardless of order.  Great for names!

ii.Wx – find terms within x words of each other, in the same order you put them in.

4. Truncation: *
5. Wildcards

i.? To replace a character – e.g.,  wom?n finds woman or women.  T??th finds tooth or teeth. 

ii.# replaces 1 or 0 characters - e.g., fav#r finds favor or favour (British spelling)

6. Subject Terms

i.Lets you use the same vocabulary as the database

ii.Also pulls up articles that have been assigned those descriptors

iii.Good and bad – may miss good articles that only mention topic and don’t have the descriptor; on the other hand, if you’re getting lots of hits, this is a good way to narrow them

7. Indexes (Indices)

i.Under “More”

ii.Can select more search options, including geographic name or people

iii.Here, the proximity and logical operators don’t work. 

iv.E.g., search for “Gates, Bill” rather than “Bill n1 gates”

8. My EBSCOhost

i.Lets you save items to a folder

ii.Lets you set up alerts

1. Help is good

6.Gales’ Environmental Studies

a.Lots of good environmental options right from the basic screen

i.Note not limited to articles; podcasts, position papers, TV shows,  maps, other items included

b.Advanced search lets you limit to peer-reviewed articles

i.Searching by author – just plug in the first and last names – will find all instances where those names occur within two words.  Example: James Speer

ii.AND, OR, NOT

1.Nesting supported

iii.Truncation: * (need at least three letters to left)

iv.Wildcards:

1.? – subs for 1 letter

2.! – subs for 1 or 0 letters – good for alternative spellings

v.Proximity operators

1.WX – words separated by X words, in that order

2.NX – words separated by X words, in any order

3.Can’t use proximity operators and nesting

a.E.g., can’t do tree! N5 (death! or disease!)

b.Can do (tree! N5 death!) OR (tree! N5 disease!)

vi.Subjects – must be Gale Cengage subjects – LCSH without subdivisions, along with people, companies, products, organizations, geographic locations, events, artistic and other published works, statutes and case numbers. 

1.Search on trees and disease above gets no hits when limited to subjects

2.To find relevant subjects:

a.Do a keyword search

b.Choose an item that’s relevant

c.Look at “related subjects” on the left. 

vii.Limits

c.Note the options when you retrieve articles

d.World Map – lets you start with a specific region to study. 

i.They’ve revised it in the past year; clunkier. 

ii.You click on a country and see all the environmental items associated with it.  Not good for specifics. 

e.Can create an account if you want to create marked lists, search alerts, etc. 

f.It’s a Gale Cengage database – works like the others, such as Academic OneFile, Biography in Context

7.ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (formerly ProQuest Environmental Sciences Collection)

a.Prefer Advanced Search

b.Boolean AND, OR, NOT

c.n/x – terms must be within x words of each other, in any order

d.pre/x – terms must be within x words of each other, in specific order

e.Help screens are good

f.My Research lets you save items to folders, set up alerts, other useful tools

8.Science Citation Index/Web of Science

a.Fewer full text options

b.Strength is its citation network

i.Other databases may have citations too, but SCI’s is probably the most extensive

ii.Can trace a concept by tracking the citations

c.Topic searching:

i.Boolean: AND, OR, NOT

ii.Proximity:

1.“” for phrases

2.NEAR/X – words are within X words of each other, regardless of order or field

3.SAME: used only for address searching; pulls up words that appear in the same address field. 

a.Works like AND if used in other fields

iii.Truncation

1.* for any characters

a.Must enter at least three characters to the left in topic or author searches

b.Can’t use it in dates – don’t use 200* to get everything from 2000 to 2009. 

2.? for one character

3.$ for zero or one character

d.Searching names:

i.Try entering LASTNAME, FIRSTNAME and see what you get

1.Westover, Karlyn

ii.May have to try LASTNAME, FIRST INITIAL with an asterisk to pull up all possibilities

iii.Hyphens and apostrophes in names are treated as spaces.  O Hara = O’Hara

iv.To be safe, try your search with and without spaces: O Hara or OHara

e.Once you’ve found something relevant, click on the “Times Cited” link to see who’s citing the article.  Chances are they’re relevant to what you want.  You can also look up the articles cited by the main article – they’ll be related too. 

f.Again, doesn’t tell you whether something’s peer-reviewed; can check elsewhere

g.Help is good

9.GeoRef

a. Overall database coverage goes back to 1693. 

b.ProQuest Database – works same as ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, profiled earlier.

c.Prefer advanced search.

10.GeoScineceWorld

a.GeoRef is integrated into GSW. 

b.Default is basic search of all content.  Advanced search gives you more options. 

i.Can use the map to limit to specific geographic area.  Specific locations matching your search will appear on the map after your search.  You can even just search on the map – pull up all the items dealing with information within the bounds you select.  Coordinates automatically entered below the map. If you know them already, you can enter them manually. 

1.West Longitude and South Latitude are entered in negative numbers. 

2.Decimal degrees

ii.Add terms to get more lines

iii.Add group to get more search boxes connected by “OR.”

iv.Keyword (GeoRef Descriptor):  Use the drop-down menu under GeoRef to access their thesauri for geographic terms, subject terms, and geological time terms.  They assume some familiarity with the terminology. 

v.Sample search: choose Indiana State University as an exact match for affiliation. 

vi.You can register as a user and create alerts, saved searches, etc. 

11.SycaMORE Research – when you’re having a hard time finding anything

a.It’s the search box you see on the library’s home page

b.Prefer Advanced Search

c.It’s an EBSCO database – works the same way as GreenFile

d.It searches our online catalog – Fusion – as well as Sycamore Scholars – our online repository – and 48 other databases.  Also indexes freely-available items from the Hathi Trust. 

e.Add as many limits as practical – otherwise you’ll usually get far too many hits

12.Finding internships

a.www.usa.gov – search for internships anthro*

13.Finding summer schools

a.www.usa.gov – search for “summer schools”

14.Finding field schools

a.www.usa.gov – search for “field schools” 

15.Researching other universities for potential grad schools

16.Job hunting

a.Library Guide: Career Guide

i.Explore careers, writing resumes and cover letters, preparing for interviews, finding jobs

b.Career Center: https://www.indstate.edu/career-center

c.Occupational Outlook Handbook: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/ - loads of info on jobs and careers

d.O-Net: www.onetonline.org – another great resource for info about jobs and careers

e.Learning Express Library (in databases):

i.Create your own account – free for ISU students

ii.Once you log in, click on “Centers”

1.Career Preparation

2.Grad School Admissions Preparation – links to exams and “Search for Graduate Schools, Programs and Scholarships.”  There’s a School Finder Tool and a Scholarship Finder Tool.  Both can be slow.

f.Business Source Complete database:

i.Job hunting

ii.Employment interviewing

17.Intro to proposal writing and research

a.Link in eHRAF to “Basic Guide to Designing a Study”

b.Research tab on Earth & Environmental Systems LibGuide

c.Research Assistance LibGuide – more geared toward undergrads, but still…

d.LCSH:

i.Anthropology--Research

ii.Social sciences—Research—Methodology.

iii.Social sciences—Research—Statistical methods.

iv.Universities and colleges—Graduate work.

18.ISU’s Office of Sponsored Programs (on the A-Z list) has links for external funding

19.American Anthropological Association (https://www.americananthro.org/) has links for career resources. 

20.Society for American Archaeology (https://www.saa.org/) has career links

21.Books

a.LCSH

i.Vocational guidance

ii.Vocational guidance—United States—Handbooks, manuals, etc. 

iii.Career development

b.The library has a bunch of job/career-related videos, including the “Selling yourself successfully” series. Also “Ferguson’s Career Tips”

c. Keyword phrase “selling yourself”