Today's Hours
Background information can provide resources to cover the gaps in your knowledge about a topic. Background information can also provide "keywords" to use as search terms to locate additional materials on the topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, books and databases are resources for background information. Background information can be found in print or electronic resources.
Bibliographies are another resource to use for background information. Check the articles and books you read for additional resources found in the bibliographies.
WorldCat's " combined catalog of more than 100 million books, web resources, and other materials from libraries throughout the world. From this database, you can electronically request items via interlibrary loan." WorldCat is a great location to check what has been published on your topic. If you are not affiliated with ISU, contact your local library to use WorldCat.
Citing all of your sources is very important at the university or college level. Neglecting to correctly cite sources may lead to charges of plagiarism. The American Psychological Association (APA) is the preferred format for citing in criminal justice and security studies. If you need assistance with creating citations, contact the ISU Writing Center.
Before you start researching, read the assignment carefully. Note the requirements as you read the assignment. As you develop your research strategy, think about the following questions:
1. What type of assignment: a presentation, paper, or a literature review?
2. How many sources are required for the assignment?
3. Are there specific source constraints: scholarly, popular, specific time frame, etc... .
4. Is a specific format required for the assignment?
5. Check assignment and/or syllabus for any additional requirements.
Do not limit your resources when you research a topic. Some databases are excellent at providing background material or an overview of a topic. Some databases can provide up-to-the minute coverage on a topic. Think about your topic, the requirements for the assignment, and look at database descriptions to help you decide which databases to search.
If you are uncertain about where to start your research, talk to a librarian.
If you need an explanation of evidence-based practices, check out the National Institute of Corrections link.
Has it been awhile since you researched a topic? A little fuzzy on research tips? The information here can help you with the steps in the research process.
Some of the links below present information on the research process, but use resources specific to that college or university. Check the ISU Library for similar tools or ask a librarian for assistance.
Search terms or keywords are terms you use to search for information on a topic. Below are resources to help you create search terms or keywords for your research strategy.
