What do I need to know about my topic before I start looking for statistics?

No matter the subject statistics are limited by both time frame and geography.

Time:  Are you looking for information about a single point in time?  Do you want to look at changes over time?  Do you need historical information?  Current information?

Be prepared that the most current statistics may actually be a year or more old!  There can be multiple year lags before some information is released depending on how often the information is collected, the time it takes to process and crunch numbers, and the public release schedule.

Geography: Geographical areas can be defined by political boundaries (nations, states, counties, cities) or statistical boundaries (mainly Census geography such as metropolitian statistical areas, block groups, or tracts). 

Remember to define your topic with enough flexibility to adapt to available information!

A visual diagram to start the thought process for your statistics search.

Search Strategy #1: Use a Reference Source or Database

Reference Sources

• Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
• The first source for statistics on all aspects of population, economy and society in the United States. Annual publication 1878-2012.  This source provides a tremendous amount of statistics for many different geographies and periods. The statistics are drawn from decennial census (every 10 years), economic census (every 5 years) and a whole host of other survey programs. It is this last fact that makes it necessary to take advantage of the wonderfully detailed footnotes/citations to the tables. These will often lead to fuller information.  We also have priint versions of the Statistical Abstract for selected years.  
  
• Historical statistics of the United States, 1789-1945.  
• Available in Government Documents on the Library's Lower Level at C 3.134/2:H 62/789-945.  It  may be used in the Library only; you can't check it out.  Contains similar information to the Statistical Abstract, but with longer time spans.  
• FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archive, is an excellent source of economic statistics.  
• The Monthly Labor Review is a great source for labor statistics.
• Older statistics:
• The Statistical Atlas of the United States from 1914 has been digitized and mounted online.  
• The Statistics of the Population of the United States from 1870 is available in Special Collections on the library's third floor.  The call number is I 10.5:v.1.  

Databases

• You can find statistics on a wide range of subjects by using SycaMORE Research.  Use Advanced Search, and enter your topic in the first search box.  In the second box, just enter the word "statistics" and use the drop-down menu to select SU Subject Terms. 
• You can follow similar procedures in any of our subject-specific databases; use advanced search, enter your topic on the first line and enter "statistics" as a subject on the second line.  (The exact procedure will vary among databases.)
• You can do the same thing with our online catalog, too.  In advanced search in Fusion or FusionPlus (Classic Catalog), enter your topic in the first search box and include the word "statistics" on the second line, using the drop-down menu to select "Subject."

Search Strategy #2: Identify potential producers

Ask yourself: Who might collect or publish this type of information?

Then visit the organization’s website and see if you're right! Or, search for them as an author in the ISU Catalog interfaces (Classic Catalog or Fusion Catalog).

These are some of the main types of producers of statistical information:

Government Agencies

• The US government collects data to aid in policy decisions and is the largest producer of statistics overall.  www,usa.gov is the one-stop portal to all things governmental.  Enter your topic and add the word "statistics" to get  statistics on just about anything the government tracks.  A few more specific sites:
• The National Center for Health Statistics
• Leading Causes of Death
• Crime Statistics from the FBI
• People and Households statistics from the Census Bureau

Non-Government Organizations

• Many independent non-commercial and nonprofit organizations collect and publish statistics that support their social platform. For example, the International Monetary Fund, United Nations, World Health Organization, and many others collect and publish statistics. For more information about NGOs, visit Duke Libraries NGO Research Guide. The library subscribes to many NGO resources, so be sure to check the library’s e-resources pages or catalog, as not all statistical publications will be freely available on the web.

Academic Institutions

• Academic research projects funded by public and private foundations create a wealth of data. For example, ISU's Institutional Research office generates a lot of information about the University and its students.  Some statistical publications are available freely online, but others may require access through library resources.

Private Sector

• Commercial firms collect and publish data and statistics as a paid service to clients or to sell broadly. Examples include marketing firms, pollsters, trade organizations, and business information. This information is almost always is fee-based and may not always be available for public release. The library does subscribe to some commercial data services, particularly through the business library.

Search Strategy #3: Turn to the published literature

Look for statistics reported in journal, news, and magazine articles.  If they report a source, be sure to follow it up!

By searching periodical indexes, you can determine if anyone has conducted research into your area of inquiry.  You may turn up a journal article with statistical tables on your topic, or you may find out that you have chosen such a unique topic that little to no research exists in that area.  Maybe you can be flexible with your topic and find a similiar substitute.

Indexes & Databases

• Subject Specific Databases  - Databases allow you to search the content of scholarly journals, magazines and other materials. Most include summary abstracts describing article content, and some provide the full text of articles.
• Academic Search Complete is a great multidisciplinary database. 
• CQ Researcher has a lot of information on current controversial topics.  It also includes links to other sources, some of which are readily available online at ISU. 

Search Strategy #4: Targeted Online Searches

Think about where to search and which keywords to use.

Internet Search Engines

• I know, it's obvious!  When searching the Internet, be sure to identify your topic keywords carefully and try using synonyms. Add in terms like “data” or “statistics”. Use advanced search features such as the “site:” command which allows you to limit your search to a certain website or domain. For example, if you think that the government is a likely producer of the statistics you need end your search with the command “site:.gov” to only search within government websites.
• Google's Advanced Search gives you more search options than searching the standard interface. 
• Bing is preferred by some Web searchers.
• DuckDuckGo doesn't track your searches, so you get more privacy and avoid the internet "filter bubble" effect of having sites moved higher in the rankings because of  your previous searches. 
  
  

Library Catalog

• Use the ISU Catalog interfaces (Classic Catalog or Fusion Catalog) to find books with statistical tables. 

  Statistical publications will always include the keyword "statistics" in the subject information about the book. For example:

  Education -- Statistics.

  Health insurance -- Indiana -- Statistics.

  Indiana  -- Statistics.

  Knowing this, you can use a technique for limiting your search to statistical publications by doing a subject search on the Advanced Search webpage for your topic.

Don't take statistics at face value.  Consider the source and method used to create the statistic.  Be a critical information consumer! 

Check out the book Damned lies and statistics: untangling numbers from the media, politicians, and activists by Joel Best (2012) for more information about reading statistics with a critical eye.  The website StatLit.org also has great information and resources about statistical literacy.