This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Interactional Studies of Qualitative Research Interviews by
Methodological accounts of research interviews find that how researchers use this tool in their work varies widely: there are many "ways" of interviewing. This edited collection unpacks the interactional dynamics of qualitative research interviews from studies conducted in education, second language acquisition, applied linguistics and disability studies from scholars in the UK, USA, Italy, Portugal and Korea. These studies explore the interactional details of how the identities of researchers and their participants matter for the generation of interview data, as well as the kinds of discursive resources and social actions that occur in tandem with the production of data for research projects. Given the widespread use of qualitative interviews for social research, this book provides a robust contribution to what Tim Rapley has called the "social studies of interviewing." This book is relevant to audiences across disciplines who use the interview as a primary research method.
Qualitative Research in the Health Sciences by
There is a growing interest in, and acceptance of, qualitative research approaches in the health science disciplines, both as standalone methodologies and integrated with quantitative designs in mixed methods approaches. This comprehensive text provides deeper knowledge and application of a wide range of methodologies, methods and processes, enabling readers to develop their qualitative research skills. Divided into two parts, focusing first on methodologies and then on methods and processes, the text also includes revision of essential aspects of quantitative research as they apply to mixed methods research and a discussion of the uptake of qualitative research in the health sciences. The methodologies covered include: Grounded Theory; Historical Research; Ethnography; Phenomenology; Narrative Inquiry; Case Study Research; Critical Ethnography; Action Research and Mixed Methods. The methods and processes covered include: Interviewing and Analysis; Group Work and Analysis; Narrative Analysis; Discourse Analysis. Using accessible language to help extend readers' practical research skills, this is a thorough and reliable text to guide advanced students and researchers from all health-related disciplines - including nursing, midwifery, public health and physiotherapy - to the best use of qualitative research.
Keys to Running Successful Research Projects by
Keys to Running Successful Research Projects: All the Things They Never Teach You provides a step-by-step guide for the management of a successful research project or program. Through the use of illustrative case studies, the book covers all aspects of management that should be included during researcher training, helping researchers overcome the many challenges they face in their day-to-day management of people, time and resources. Links throughout provide more detailed information from gold standard sources on every topic. It is a must-have reference for postdocs, research managers and administrators in colleges, universities, hospitals and research institutes. In addition, it is an ideal resource for those working in grant and contract funding groups in the life sciences and medical fields.
Extraordinary Encounters by
Given the anthropological focus on ethnography as a kind of deep immersion, the interview poses theoretical and methodological challenges for the discipline. This volume explores those challenges and argues that the interview should be seen as a special, productive site of ethnographic encounter, a site of a very particular and important kind of knowing. In a range of social contexts and cultural settings, contributors show how the interview is experienced and imagined as a kind of space within which personal, biographic and social cues and norms can be explored and interrogated. The interview possesses its own authenticity, therefore--true to the persons involved and true to their moment of interaction--whilst at the same time providing information on human capacities and proclivities that is generalizable beyond particular social and cultural contexts.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Interviewing as Qualitative Research by
The Third Edition of this bestselling resource provides clear, step-by-step guidance for new and experienced interviewers to help them develop, shape, and reflect on interviewing as a qualitative research process. While proposing a phenomenological approach to in-depth interviewing, the author also includes principles and methods that can be adapted to a range of interviewing approaches. Using concrete examples of interviewing techniques to illustrate the issues under discussion, this classic text helps readers to understand the complexities of interviewing and its connections to broader issues of qualitative research. Equally popular for individual and classroom use, the new Third Edition of Interviewing as Qualitative Researchfeatures: an introduction to the Institutional Review Board (IRB) process in its historical context, including an expanded discussion of informed consent and its complexities; apecial attention to the rights of participants in interview research as those rights interact with ethical issues; and updated references and suggestions for additional reading for a deeper consideration of methodological, ethical, and philosophical issues, including relevant Internet resources.
Successful Qualitative Research by
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide students with complete confidence for their qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
Titles in ScienceDirect may require you to use Interlibrary Loan to get full-text of chapters.
Getting the Message Across: communication with diverse populations in clinical genetics by 
Practical Genetic Counseling for the Laboratory by 
Atlas of inherited retinal diseases / Stephen H. Tsang by 
G Is for Genes: the impact of genetics on education and achievement by 
Ethical Counseling and Medical Decision-Making in the Era of Personalized Medicine by 
Translating Epigenetics to the Clinic by 
The Material Gene : gender, race, and heredity after the human genome project by 
The Value of Genetic and Genomic Technologies by 
Human Malformations and Related Anomalies by 
Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling by 
Jews and Genes : the genetic future in contemporary Jewish thought by 
Genetic Diagnoses by 
Genetic Counseling for Adult Neurogenetic Disease by 
Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling by 
The Practical Guide to the Genetic Family History by 
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition by 
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by 
Counseling about Cancer: Strategies for Genetic Counseling by 
Inherited Metabolic Epilepsies by 
Inherited Bleeding Disorders in Women by 
Sports, Exercise, and Nutritional Genomics by 
Genetic Dilemmas: Reproductive Technology, Parental Choices, and Children's Futures by 
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation by 
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by 
Advanced Genetic Counseling by 
Family Communication about Genetics by 
A Guide to Genetic Counseling by 
Genetic Counseling Practice by 
Genetic Counseling: Clinical Practice and Ethical Considerations by 
Practical Genetic Counselling 7th Edition by 
Telling genes : the story of genetic counseling in America by 
Introduction to Risk Calculation in Genetic Counseling by 
Gorlin's Syndromes of the Head and Neck by 
Epstein's Inborn Errors of Development by 
Genetic Counseling Research by 
Genetic Disorders and the Fetus by 
Dento/Oro/Craniofacial Anomalies and Genetics by 
Medical Epigenetics by 
Advances in Genetics (Book Series) by 
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics by 
Principles of Developmental Genetics by 
Transgenerational Epigenetics by 
Genetics of Cardiovascular Disease by 
Epigenetics in Human Disease by 
Personalized Epigenetics by 
Handbook of Epigenetics by 
Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin by 