Skip to Main Content

Cunningham Memorial Library (Physical Location)	7am – 7pm
Circulation Desk	7am – 7pm
Research & Instruction	By Appointment
Administration Office	8am – 4:30pm
Special Collections	8am – 4:30pm
Technical Services	8am – 4:30pm
Writing Center	Closed

Genetic Counseling: Journals

About Genetic Counseling Journals

Genetic counselors should know the important journals used by their discipline. However, it is often easier to find journal articles by using databases to search across multiple journals simultaneously rather than by searching each journal individually.

Journal of Genetic Counseling

To directly access the ISU subscription click here: Journal of Genetic Counseling

JGC may be searched using the special features of the following databases:

CINAHL Database, The CINAHL® provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PsycINFO® PsycINFO®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

For your information, articles from the latest issue of the Journal of Genetic Counseling RSS Feed are listed below but, for full-text, click the ISU subscription link above.

Considering publishing within JGC?

Journal of Genetic Counseling Instructions for Authors

Annual Review of Genetics RSS Feed

RSS Feed Error
The requested feed could not be loaded. (Wed, 02 Jul 2025 21:40:27 -0500)

Recommended Genetics Journals

You may search the Classic Catalog to find the journal subscriptions of the ISU Library.

Classic Catalog Search for (genetic* or genom*) and d:(periodicals)

Below are listed some specific journals useful for genetic counselors.

Journal of Heredity by American Genetic Association via Oxford University Press
Call Number: ISU Main Library Periodicals (Basement) S 494 .A2 J7

Publication Date: Began in 1914

2015 Impact Factor: 2.075
PLoS Genetics by Public Library of Science
Call Number: QH426

2015 Impact Factor: 6.661
Trends in Genetics by Elsevier
Call Number: QH426

ScenceDirect
2015 Impact Factor: 9.858
Nature Reviews Genetics by Nature Pub. Group
Call Number: QH426

2015 Impact Factor: 35.898
Genes & Development by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Call Number: QH426

2015 Impact Factor: 10.042
DNA Research by Kazusa DNA Research Institute
Call Number: QH426

2015 Impact Factor: 5.267
Current Opinion in Genetics & Development by Current Biology Ltd
Call Number: QH426

2015 Impact Factor: 5.784
Journal of Medical Genetics eJMG by BMJ Pub. Group
Call Number: QH431

2015 Impact Factor: 5.650
Nature genetics by Nature Pub. Group
Call Number: QH431

2015 Impact Factor: 31.616
American Journal of Human Genetics by Chicago University of Chicago Press
Call Number: QH431.A1

2015 Impact Factor: 10.794
Annual Review of Genetics by Annual Reviews
Call Number: QH431.A1

2015 Impact Factor: 12.235
Genome Medicine by BioMed Central
Call Number: QH447

2015 Impact Factor: 5.700
Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics by Annual Reviews
Call Number: QH447

2015 Impact Factor: 8.347
Genome Biology by BioMed Central
Call Number: QH447

2015 Impact Factor: 11.313
Molecular Biology & Evolution by Oxford University Press
Call Number: QH506

2015 Impact Factor: 13.649
Trends in Ecology & Evolution by Elsevier
Call Number: QH540

ScenceDirect
2015 Impact Factor: 16.735
Genome Research by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Call Number: QP606.D46

2015 Impact Factor: 11.351
Human Molecular Genetics by Oxford University Press
Call Number: RB155.5

2015 Impact Factor: 5.985
GeneReviews by University of Washington, Seattle
Call Number: RB155.5

ISBN: ISSN: 2372-0697

Publication Date: 1993-present
Journal of Genetic Counseling by Springer
Call Number: RB155.7

2015 Impact Factor: 2.030
Molecular Therapy by Nature Pub. Group
Call Number: RB155.8

2015 Impact Factor: 6.938
Oncogene by Nature Pub. Group
Call Number: RC268.42 ; QR372.O6;

2015 Impact Factor: 7.932

Ask a Librarian

Nature.com - Genetic Counselling

Nature Genetics

Nature Reviews Genetics RSS Feed