Today's Hours
Historical Dictionary of American Criminal Justice by Basic information is provided on this page about finding criminal justice and criminology materials, includng statistics, choosing a database, and locating United States and international resources.
Please advise any students researching criminal justice or criminology to contact the librarian for the discipline.
Look to your right for contact information for the Criminal Justice Librarian.
Patrons can pick up a business card with her contact information at the Public Services Desk.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is good for evidence-based information, government resources, and previously published resources. The NCJRS sponsoring agencies publish hundreds of reports and other information products each year. The types of reports and their content are designed to meet the broad range of interests in the field and the audiences who use them.
Sage Criminology is research based and has information on a variety of topics and Sage publications. The full-text coverage includes criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology and family and domestic violence. Coverage varies by journal, with some coverage starting in 1921.
Criminal Justice Abstracts has coverage from 1968 to date. The collection, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, indexes more than 170,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
Key Word Search:
Type one or more words of the title, author, subject, or series or song titles. Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. For example:
twain huckleberry
harry potter goblet
dylan tangled blue
If you aren't sure of how to spell something, use '*' for 1-5 characters, '**' for open-ended truncation, or '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word. For example: polic*, comput**, wom?n
Author Search:
Type all or part of the author's name (last name, first) or the name of an illustrator, actor, director, composer, performer or organization. For example:
Steel, Danielle
Carle, Eric
Madonna
Depp, Johnny
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Title Search:
Type as much or as little of the title as you know, beginning with the first words of the title. If you don't know the exact title, do a keyword search. For example:
sound of music
to kill a mockingbird
harry potter and the
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security by