Cunningham Memorial Library: .Information Literacy in the Sciences: NCBI

NCBI Databases

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides analysis and retrieval resources that include the GeneBank, Entrez, MyNCBI, PubMed, Entrez Gene, BLAST, BLAST Link (BLink), Electronic PCR, UniGene, HomoloGene, ProtEST, Cancer Chromosomes, Entrez Genomes, among many others.

National Center for Biotechnology Information - NCBI
DNA & RNA - Site Guide - NCBI
The NCBI Handbook. 2nd edition.
NCBI Help
GenBank Sample Record
Includes description of each data element or field
About RefSeq
Querying GEO DataSets and GEO Profiles
GEO stand for "Gene Expression Omnibus."
OMIM Search Help
NCBI Genome Browsers YouTube Playlist
National Libraries of Medicine
NCBI Workshops, Webinars, Codeathons & Conferences
NCBI, National Library of Medicine
NCBI Documentation
Help, FAQ, and factsheets for specific NCBI databases

PubMed includes over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Select full-text is available via PubMed Central.

PubMed Online Training
Tutorials from the National Libraries of Medicine. Brief or long. Novice or advanced.
How PubMed® Works
Recordings and PowerPoints of a series of four in depth National Library of Medicine training workshops of 2023.
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
Learn to develop a clinical question using PICO & efficiently find relevant biomedical literature using PubMed. About 30 minutes to complete.
PubMed Help
Very thorough e-book. National Center for Biotechnology Information (US). Updated to the present.
The New PubMed is Here
Collins M. The New PubMed is Here. NLM Tech Bull. 2019 Nov-Dec;(431):e3. Tells what changed.
Medical Genetics Search Filters in PubMed
Search queries for medical genetics topics programmed into PubMed.
PubMed Search Algorithm
The algorithm is the set of rules a search engine uses to retrieve and rank results.
Exporting References from PubMed into EndNote
How to export records from PubMed into EndNote, the bibliographic management database that helps you format citations
Medical Subject Headings 2020 - MeSH Browser
Look up Medical Subject Headings in the MeSH database to choose them for your search in MEDLINE

.Information Literacy in the Sciences

NCBI Databases

How to Use the NCBI’s Bioinformatics Tools and Databases