Keyword Searches:
Type one or more words of the title, author, subject, series or song titles. Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. If you aren't sure of how to spell something, use '*' for 1-5 characters, '**' for open-ended truncation, or '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word. For example: polic*, comput**, wom?n
Title Searches:
Type as much or as little of the title as you know, beginning with the first words of the title. If you don't know the exact title, do a keyword search. For example:
sound of music
to kill a mockingbird
harry potter and the
Author Searches:
Type all or part of the author's name (last name, first) or the name of an illustrator, actor, director, composer, performer or organization. For example:
Steel, Danielle
Carle, Eric
Madonna
Depp, Johnny
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Saving Your Searches:
To make a list that can be printed or emailed as you search the catalog, select items by marking the box to the left of a title and then clicking on Save to Marked List. Items can also be added to a list from an individual item record by clicking on the Save to List button.
Once you have created a list, use the View List button and then select Export Saved List to choose your print or email choices. To print, select Send List to: Screen and print from your browser.
When you use the library catalog, there are time-saving tools you can use.
You need to create a PIN; creating a PIN gives you the ability to use these tools.
You can place a "hold" on materials; library staff will pull the items off the shelves and contact you to pick them up.
You can create an "Add to My List" to keep track of your searches.
The "Hold" and "Add to My List" are found at the top of the pages containing returns from searches.
If you need assistance creating a PIN or using the other services, contact the Library Public Services Desk or a librarian. You can use Chat with a Librarian for assistance.
Focus your topic. Homicide, terrorism or domestic violence are very large topics; it would be difficult to write on the general topic of "domestic violence" or "terrorism." Look at information on the topic and pick a specific area to focus on for research. For example, instead of looking at "domestic violence"--consider OIDV (officer involved domestic violence) or a specific type of abuse, such as financial.
Review the bibliographies from books and articles; they can lead you to additional materials to use in your research.
Make sure you understand the requirements of the assignment; including the number and type of resources required. Give yourself enough time to locate, read, and evaluate the sources to verify they meet the requirements for the assignment.
Scholarly articles are found in databases. When you search a database, look for "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" and check the box. This insures that articles from your searches are scholarly. Do not limit yourself to searching only criminal justice databases. If your topic is current, you may also want to use newspaper databases for current information and statistics. When you find a scholarly article useful for your topic, look at the bibliography at the end of the article. Often, checking the bibliography can provide you with additional sources to use in your research.
When you search the databases, remember the requirements of your assignment.
Databases have a "Help" or "?" section to provide research tips for using the database. The links below provide general tips on researching databases. If you need research assistance, contact the School of Criminology and Security Studies Librarian.
A combined catalog of more than 100 million books, web resources, and other materials from libraries throughout the world. From this database, you can see if the ISU library has the item or you can electronically request items via interlibrary loan.
Why use a dictionary? Dictionaries can provide definitions and background information on criminal justice terms and phrases.
Some dictionaries also contain important historical or legal documents related to criminal justice.
Statistics can be an important part of research. Selected sites listed here provide a variety of statistics on criminal justice topics.
