Today's Hours
History Specific
American History and Live with Full-text America: History and Life™ with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Antiquarian Soc Historical Periodicals: 1684-1820 The American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for newspapers published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
American Antiquarian Soc Historical Periodicals: 1838-1852 The American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for newspapers published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
American Antiquarian Soc Historical Periodicals:1821-1837 The American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for newspapers published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
American Antiquarian Soc Historical Periodicals:1853-1865 The American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for newspapers published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
American Antiquarian Soc Historical Periodicals:1866-1912 The American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for newspapers published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
American History in Video Provides footage of historical moments.
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology Accesses narratives of over 2,300 former slaves interviewed from 1936 to 1938 by writers of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
American State Papers, 1789-1838 The American State Papers, 1789-1838 is a rich source of primary material on many aspects of American history. The resource includes over 6,000 publications including every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, plus additional materials such as speeches and presidential messages.
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass—and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale In Context: World History combines rare primary souces, reliable references and multi-media content that chronicles the great cultures and societies that have formed history.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education.
History Reference Center - access provided by INSPIRE Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century,
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history and illuminates how they have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History focuses of historical interest to the experiences of ordinary people in the US.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994 full text resource of reports, documents and journals of the House and Senate.
World History in Video provides access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
Supporting Dabatases
Black Studies in Video brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and from mainly ten states.
Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History a resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Historical Newspapers (from ProQuest) Search for historical articles from The New York Times (1851-2009) and The Wall Street Journal (1889-1987).
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Making of America (Hathitrust Collection) is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2014) The New York Times (1851-2009) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
ProQuest makes hundreds of full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Indiana State Library Large collection devoted to Indiana history, including Indiana counties and cities.
Library of Congress Digital Collections A rich resource of primary documents covering numerous aspects of American History.
National Archives Provides access to primary and secondary documents from all periods of American History.