HIST 600: Historical Method & Theory: Annotated Bibliography

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Annotations vs. Abstracts

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they may describe the author's point of view, authority, or clarity and appropriateness of expression.

The Process

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills: concise exposition, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

Cite the book, article, or document using the appropriate style.

Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author, (b) comment on the intended audience, (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

What to Include in an Annotated Bibliography

• Complete citation:  Check with your instructor (APA, MLA, etc.) to see what citation style you should follow.
• Author:  Is the author well known in their field?  Is he or she affiliated with a university, institute, or company
• Publisher:  Is the publisher a university press?  If so then that is an indication that it will be scholarly. 
• Audience:  Is the item written for a scholarly or popular audience?
• Scholarly apparatus:  Does the author cite other works?  Are these citations extensive?  Is there a bibliography?  Are the items in the citations or bibliography primary sources?  Scholarly  or popular?  New or old?
• Main points:  What is the author’s main point or argument?
• Importance:  Is the item considered a key or essential part of the scholarship on the subject?
• Shortcomings:  What, if any, are the main faults of the item?  Does the evidence support the argument the author makes?  Is the evidence laThe following example uses APA style (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition, 2019) for the journal citation:cking in some respect, does it ignore, for example, recent scholarship?
• Evaluation:  Provide your opinion of the item.  Why would you use it,  or not, in your paper?

Critically Appraising the Book, Article, or Document

For guidance in critically appraising and analyzing the sources for your bibliography, see How to Critically Analyze Information Sources.

Sample Annotated Bibliography Entry

Waite, Linda J., et al. "Nonfamily Living and the Erosion of Traditional Family Orientations Among Young Adults." American Sociological Review, vol. 51, no. 4, 1986, pp. 541-554.
The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Brown University, use data from the National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily living by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles. They find their hypothesis strongly supported in young females, while the effects were fewer in studies of young males. Increasing the time away from parents before marrying increased individualism, self-sufficiency, and changes in attitudes about families. In contrast, an earlier study by Williams cited below shows no significant gender differences in sex role attitudes as a result of nonfamily living.

Adapted for use by, and with the permission of,

Olin Library Reference
Research & Learning Services
Cornell University Library
Ithaca, NY, USA