History 200

 

 

Amistad Research Center Committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.

Archives of African American Music and Culture (Indiana University) Contains materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. The collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop.

Black Past List of Digitized Archives An online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. This page contains a list of major digitized archives on African American History.

Centro Library and Archives Digital Collections (CUNY) Provides access to photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving image and audio clips, and other digitized or born digital material pertaining to the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Project run by the Library of Congress that contains scanned newspapers from all over the country from between 1789-1963.

Civil War Resources (Virginia Military Institute) Contains letters and papers on a variety of Civil War topics and people, ranging from Stonewall Jackson to cadet life during the war. While not all items are offered in full text, descriptions are given of other items that may be found at the VMI archives.

Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) Digital Collections (University of Miami) The largest repository of materials on Cuba outside of the island and the most comprehensive collection of resources about Cuban exile history and the global Cuban diaspora experience.

Digital Public Library of America The DPLA aggregates millions of documents from its member institutions (of which the Hathi Trust is a member). These can be searched using keywords and narrowing it down by collection and by organization.

Discovering American Women's History Online (Middle Tennessee State University) Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) This site includes digitized primary sources from several collections. Items include texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

GLBT Historical Society Collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.

Lesbian Herstory Archives Home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities, with digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes and 950 videotapes.

LGBT Oral History Digital Collaboratory Connects archives across Canada and the U.S. to produce a digital history hub for the research and study of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans* oral histories.

Library of Congress Digital Collections Historical collections (primary documents, sound recordings, images, maps, etc.) that include such topics as advertising, African American history, and women's history.

Making of America (University of Michigan) This collaborative project resulted in a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. The two sites have the same scope, but different content

National Archives Website run by the National Archives and Records Association, which is a branch of the United States Government. You can search for documents related to the government, military, and other important historical events. Contains a number of online digitized exhibits.

NYPL Digital Collections NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 520,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

NYPL Gay and Lesbian Collections and HIV/AIDS Collections The NYPL holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic.

Private Voices (UGA) Part of the Corpus of American Civil War Letters Project (CACWL), this is a collection of thousands of letters written by Civil War soldiers who wrote "by ear." Almost all of these men were army privates, and their letters reveal a great deal about the lives and motivations of the Civil War's common soldiers.

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection (Cornell University) A rich and diverse set of materials from Cornell University on the anti-slavery movement of the 1800’s. Over 10,000 pamphlets and articles cover local and national topics.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division (NYPL Digital Collections) The NYPL Digital Collections is a contributor to the DPLA, but their website is particularly useful for browsing their subject specific collections and some items and documents are not found in other platforms. They have many relevant international records, from books and magazines to letters and plantation records.

Smithsonian Collections Contains millions of digital objects from historical artifacts to documents and letters. Additionally, items come from all over the world and are not exclusive to the United States.

Vivian G. Harsh Society Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature The largest African-American history and literature collection in the Midwest containing thousands of books, many of them rare, reels of microfilm, clipping files, and manuscripts and archival collections.

Voces Oral History Project (University of Texas) The leading Latino oral history archive in the United States. Beginning in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II and expanding to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights.

Women in the Civil War (Duke University) Digitized materials from Duke and other collections feature manuscripts on the role of women in the war, including their duties as soldiers and spies.