AHS 421: Nutrition: Books

To search for specific print or electronic books owned by the ISU Library, we recommend the following:

1. Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
2. On the ISU Library homepage, under the image, click the Books & More Tab
3. Below the text box, click Library Catalog. The Catalog window opens.
4. Click Advanced Search
5. In the first search box, select Title and enter the words   encyclopedia OR encyclopaedia
6. In the second search box, enter search word(s) related to your topic.   nutrition OR food OR diet
7. Click  Submit 
8. Examine all retrieved records for relevant encyclopedias. Read more detail about a book by clicking on the title of the record.
9. If the book is electronic, click ISU patrons click here to access full text through Library Electronic Resources
   1. If the book is available online, click ISU patrons click here to access full text through Library Electronic Books. Keep clicking to go to go to the full-text.
       
   2. If the book is available in print, write down the Call Number and the Location (Reference, ISU Gov Docs, ISU Main Library Stacks, etc.). 
   3. In the ISU Library building, go to the shelving location and use the call number to find the correct book.
   4. If you need only a section of the book, photocopy or scan the section using the (free) scanners or (fee) copiers on the First Floor.
   5. All Print Library Books are located on the library's 2nd and 3rd Floors, except "Reference Books", "Browsing Books", TMC (Children's Books), and Special Collections.

Note: The Catalog searches the description of a book, not the full-text of a book. Descriptions of 300 page books do not go into detail. So do broad searches. Generally, don't enter search words that are too specific. Don't enter too many search words. The Catalog accepts searches of 75 characters or less. If you enter more than 75 characters, the extra characters will be deleted from the search, sometimes cutting off the ends of search words.

Nutrition Care Manual - LINK to resource

• Reminder: 4 simultaneous users limitation - WHEN FINISHED, PLEASE CLICK ON LOGOUT to clear access for the next user
• The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetic's Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is an internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for Registered Dietitians, Dietetic Technicians Registered, and allied health professionals. NCM is accessed by annual subscription through ISU and gives you online access to evidence- and knowledge-based nutrition information that keeps you current and compliant. NCM is most suitable for health professionals wishing to find information about a diet and nutrition plan for patients with specific health conditions.
• On homepage, look for Table of Contents link

EXPLORE:

• Nutrition Care drop-down menu: Conditions; Normal Nutrition; Older Adult Nutrition
• Client/Ed Diets
• Calculators - 10 different calculators
• Formulary - and compare results to your client’s Dietary Reference Intakes (DRI)
• Resources

(If the link to the Nutrition Care Manual below does not work, click ISU Medicine & Nursing Databases and try the Nutrition Care Manual link in that list.)

Library Catalog
 

The Library Catalog is the advanced search. Use the Library Catalog as your first option for locating books, scores, microfilms, journal titles (but NOT articles), sound recordings, and videos owned by Indiana State University, as well as Web-based resources that are accessible via the catalog (electronic books and journals, databases).

The Library Catalog can be searched to find out what journal subscriptions ISU holds. It CANNOT be used to search for journal ARTICLES or newspaper ARTICLES.

The Library Catalog connect you to both college/university and public library materials from the ISU Library and the Vigo County Public Library! Your ISU ID card allows you borrowing privileges at all of these libraries. If you need materials from the other libraries and do not have transportation, use Interlibrary Loan to request them.

Note: the Vigo County Public Library Main Branch is only a few blocks south of campus on 7th Street, south of Wabash/Ohio Streets. Map

Print books are shelved in the ISU Library according to the Library of Congress Classification System. A call number is assigned to the book based upon the subject of the book. Books are shelved in call number order. You may browse the  LOC Schedule to find general locations of subjects or you may search the Library Catalog for specific locations of books and other library materials.

RA 784    Nutrition

QP 141   Physiology                

RM 214   Diet therapy                

TX 341    Home economics

WorldCat is a database that allows you to search multiple library catalogs around the world simultaneously. You may use it to find books and materials owned by other libraries and to identify which libraries hold those materials.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.  You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.  Materials in WorldCat can be requested via Cunningham Memorial Library's Illiad  Inter-Library Loan software.   WorldCat is interlinked with Illiad, so users may request an item directly from the WorldCat record.