Religion, Philosophy & Culture: Suggestions For Religion Research

Use the Fusion Plus catalog as your first option for locating books, scores, microfilms, journal titles (but NOT articles), sound recordings, and videos owned by Indiana State University, as well as Web-based resources that are accessible via the catalog (electronic books and journals, databases).

• Circulating books: 2nd floor 
•  New books:   1st floor browsing collection or 2nd Floor
•  Reference books: 1st Floor
•  Language dictionaries and style manuals: 1st Floor Reference Collection,  1st Floor Reference Desk
• Current periodicals:  1st Floor
• DVDs:  Browsing on 1st Floor, Main Stacks on 2nd Floor
• CD-ROMs: 2nd Floor.
• Microforms: Basement
• Microform reader/printer/scanner: 1st floor
• Scanner: 1st Floor

Some definitions in religious studies

Oftentimes, how you write in religious studies significantly depends on the vocabulary you use and how you use it. The best way to ensure that you are using words with definitions that are appropriate for the kind of paper that you are writing is to make sure that you thoroughly understand—and are able correctly to use—the vocabulary in your course readings. But in addition, you may want to use more general terms in your writing. For the definitions of general terms, you should consult either the Oxford English Dictionary or the Harper Collins Dictionary of Religion. Below are a few definitions of common, general terms in religious studies to help you get started with your writing.

(These definitions are based primarily on The Harper Collins Dictionary of Religion, 1995):

• Belief: A "belief" is an attitude or idea that motivates a person to act.
  
  
• Deity: "Deity" is a general term for a god or goddess.
  
  
• Faith: The term "faith" is closely associated with Protestant Christian attitudes toward religion because it implies that religions are sets of beliefs.
  
  
• Holy Books: The term "holy books" refers to texts that are considered as authoritative or sacred within a tradition. Holy books can be written, oral, or both.
  
  
• Ritual: The term "ritual" refers to a system of actions and beliefs. A ritual has several stages, generally including a distinctive beginning, middle, and end, as well as pre-ritual and post-ritual stages.
  
  
• Tradition: The term "tradition" refers to the transmission of received practices, customs, and knowledge. In some religions, traditions refer primarily to holy books; in others, to religious practices; in still others, "tradition" refers to both holy books and religious practices.

Historical analyses

Religious studies is a diverse field, incorporating a variety of disciplines. The study of history is a common component. Similar theories and methods can be applied, for instance, to the study of American religious history and American political history. The historical study of religion may be further divided into specific sub-fields. One might, for instance, examine the social history of early Christianity, the political history of ancient Israel, the literary history of Persian religious poetry, or the military history of early medieval Islam.

Essential to historical analysis is the use of primary evidence, which includes both documentary sources and material remains. Documentary evidence, particularly literature, is perhaps the more prevalent type and requires particular consideration in relation to religious studies.

As a historian examines the reliability of the source in hopes of uncovering particular historical data, she must also admit that certain aspects of religious traditions are not susceptible to historical inquiry by their very nature. For instance, miracles are by definition highly improbable and thus not open to historical investigation. So, if one undertakes a historical study of the figure of Jesus, the question of whether or not Jesus experienced a bodily resurrection (a miracle), though significant from a theological perspective, is beyond the scope of the inquiry and must ultimately remain unresolved. Regardless of how you settle this issue theologically, the historical question requires an alternative approach.

While the mystery of the miracle remains, the literary evidence reporting the resurrection retains its value for the purposes of historical analysis. A historian could investigate the manner in which the various early Christian writers depicted the event and, in doing so, make a historical claim related to the development of early Christian theology. In summary, a fruitful inquiry considers not how you perceive the resurrection event, but how early Christians interpreted it. In determining the latter, you are well on your way to making a historical claim.

Ethnographic studies

Ethnography in religious studies is a research method that involves observing religious actions and interviewing its participants. Ethnography becomes useful in religious studies when it is important to know what religious persons and communities are doing and saying together today. Ethnographic writing is challenging for three reasons:

1. Ethnographic writing actually includes several different kinds of writing tasks, including fieldnotes, interview notes, scene notes, and the final paper itself.
   
   
2. The primary sources for ethnographic writing come from your own experiences, observations, and interviews with other people in a fieldwork setting.
   
   
3. Ethnographic writing demands a clear and strong ethical commitment on your part to protect the well being of the people about whom you write.