Skip to Main Content
Indiana State University website
Today's Hours


Explains characteristics of different types of sources of information

Government Docs at ISU

 The ISU Library collects government documents to provide government information to the public as part of Freedom of Information Act.

Government documents are shelved on the Lower Level of the ISU Library.

Government documents are organized and shelved according to SuDoc Call Numbers.

Reading SuDocs

A SuDoc Call Number looks like this.

SuDoc Call Numbers

Superintendent of Documents Classification System

A                  Agriculture Department
AE                National Archives and Records Administration
B                  Broadcasting Board of Governors
C                  Commerce Department
C 3               Census Bureau
CC                Federal Communications Commission
CR                Civil Rights Commission
CS                Civil Service Commission
D                 Defense Department
E                 Energy Department
ED               Education Department
EP               Environmental Protection Agency
FA               Fine Arts Commission
FCA             Farm Credit Administration
FEM             Federal Emergency Management Administration (became part of Homeland Security -- HS)
FHF             Federal Housing Finance Board
FM               Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
FMC             Federal Maritime Commission
FR               Federal Reserve System Board of Governors
FT                Federal Trade Commission
FTZ              Federal Trade Zone Board
GA               Government Accountability Office (formerly: General Accounting Office)
GP               Government Printing Office
GS               General Services Administration
HE               Health and Human Services Department
HH               Housing and Urban Development Department
HS               Homeland Security Department
I                 Interior Department
I 19             U.S. Geological Survey
IA               U.S. Information Agency
IC               Interstate Commerce Commission
ID               U.S. Agency for International Development
ITC              International Trade Commission
J                 Justice Department
JU               Judiciary (Courts of the United States)
L                 Labor Department
LC               Library of Congress
LR               National Labor Relations Board
MS              Merit Systems Protection Board
NA              National Academy of Sciences
NAS            National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NC              National Capital Planning Commission
NCU            National Credit Union Administration
NF              National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities
NS              National Science Foundation
OP             Overseas Private Investment Corporation
P                United States Postal Service
PE              Peace Corps
PM             Personnel Management Office
PR             President of the United States
PREX         Executive Office of the President
PRVP         Vice President of the United States
RR             Railroad Retirement Board
S               State Department
SBA           Small Business Administration
SE              Securities and Exchange Commission
SI              Smithsonian Institution
SSA           Social Security Administration
T               Treasury Department
T 22           Internal Revenue Service
TD            Transportation Department
TDA          U.S. Trade and Development Agency
VA            Veterans Administration
X and Y     Congress
Y 1            House and Senate Reports and Documents
Y 4            Congressional Committee Hearings

Chat with a Librarian