A database is a structured collection of records or data. A file cabinet of files and folders is a database. A spreadsheet of data is a database. A software program of searchable bibliographic library records is also a database and is more commonly thought of when the term "database" is used.
The ISU Library provides access to many electronic databases that are useful for research, study, and knowledge acquisition. Some are available for free to anyone but some are provided through a subscription paid by the Indiana State University Library.
Electronic databases use a search engine to access and retrieve relevant records. The patron enters into the search engine terms relevant to what he wants to know and the search engine retrieves records with those terms according to whatever rules were programmed into that search engine. Different search engines work differently. And different databases contain different records within them so it is useful to search more than one database if you are researching a topic thoroughly.
Below are quick tips useful for doing frequently-assigned assignments at ISU. Enter the database and find the special search Limiters and Options mentioned below.
These Web sites contain information about EBP. Some include links to resources to search for EBP.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is a prestigious Australian EBP organization.
Indiana State University does NOT have a subscription to the JBI databases. But you may search the databases using the free links below.
Use Check Availability and Interlibrary Loan to find full-text. If you do not have complete citation information for an Interlibrary Loan Article request, put in what you do have. Be sure to list the Journal Title as JBI or the Joanna Briggs Institute. Interlibrary Loan staff have been warned about JBI requests and will try to obtain it if it is available. They will contact you if they have questions.
ISU does NOT have access to the JBI content. However, you may use Interlibrary Loan to obtain the full-text.
