Library Student Employees: Discipline 911: Political Science

• C-SPAN Video Library - "The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, almost totaling over 211,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives."  
• CIA World Factbook - "... provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."  
• Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) - "... is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
• Congress.gov (Formerly Thomas) - Presented by the LIbrary of Congress,"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public."
• GPO - the US Government Publishing Office - "... the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government."
• LexisNexis Academic - Excellent for news, but also includes access to laws and legal information. 
• State of Indiana web site (IN.gov) - A searchable gateway to Indiana government and agency information. 
• United Nations Official Document System (ODS) - "ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information."
• USA.gov - a searchable "one-stop shop" for US goverment and agency information. 
• Westlaw Campus - Provides access to Federal and state laws and codes, along with law journals, commentary and European Union documents. 

"The Department of Political Science offers majors in both Political Science and Legal Studies.  It also offers minors in these areas as well as in Civic Leadership and Public Administration. 

At the graduate level, the department houses the Master’s of Public Administration degree program in addition to graduate certificate programs in public administration and in public personnel administration.  The MPA and the certificate programs can be taken online." - from the departmental web site

• [INSERT NAME OF COUNTRY, STATE, PROVINCE, ETC.] -- Politics and government. 
• [INSERT SUBJECT] -- Poliitcal aspects. 
• Autonomy.
• Bureaucracy.
• Cabinet system.
• Central-local government relations.
• Cities and towns. 
• Citizenship.
• City-states.
• Civics.
• Civil service.
• Common good.
• Communication in politics.
• Communication in public administration.
• Comparative government.
• Constitutions, State.
• Decentralization in government.
• Democracy. 
• Divided government. 
• Federal government.
• Government accountability.
• Government spending policy.
• International law.
• Intergovernmental cooperation. 
• Interorganizational relations.
• Justice.
• Local government.
• Municipal government. 
• Political rights. 
• Political parties.
• Political science.
• Public administration.
• Public interest. 
• Public officers.
• Public records. 
• Public service employment.
• Representative government and representation.
• Republics.
• Sovereignty. 
• State, The.
• State governments. 
• Statehood (American politics)
• Transparency in government.