Library Student Employees: Discipline 911: Communication

• Archival Soiund Recordings - From the British Library, this database lets you search 'more than 25,600 selected recordings of music, the spoken word, and sounds from both human and natural environments."
• C-SPAN Video Archive - "Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible"
• Communication & Mass Media Complete  - "Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media"
• CQ Researcher - "Produced by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue."
• LexisNexis Academic - Really great for news!  It contains the full text of newspapers both across the United States and around the world.  
• McClatchy-Tribune Collection - "The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily."  
• Newspaper Source - "Newspaper Source contains full text for 224 regional U.S. newspapers, 26 international newspapers, 22 newswires and newspaper columns, 36 TV and radio news transcripts, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today and The Washington Post (for a total of 310 full text newspapers and other sources)."

Communication (note - it's NOT spelled with an "s" at the end) encompasses bachelor's and master's programs of study in Public Relations, Journalism, Electronic Media, and Human Communication.  This page has brief info on finding articles and books on those subjects.  If you get a complicated question, don't hesitate to contact the liaison to the Department of Communication, Steve Hardin.

You're most likely to encounter Communication students who are doing assignments for COMM 101.  They must develop and perform informative speeches and persuasive speeches. There's already a separate LibGuide for this class if you need more detailed info. 

• Advertising.
• Broadcasting.
• Communication.
• Communication and technology.
• Journalism.
• Persuasion (Rhetoric)
• Persuasive communication. 
• Public relations.
• Radio announcing.
• Social media.
• Speeches, addresses. etc. 
• Television and children.
• Television and politics.