Today's Hours
University Archives Searchable Database
Shadows of the Wabash- ISU Special Collections
Includes digitized Martin Photo Shop images and University and University School yearbooks
Includes digitized catalogs and committee minutes including Board of Trustees
Special Collections Digital Exhibits
Special Collections digital exhibits.
University Archivist
(812) 237-8435
To properly cite a primary source you need to note several things while researching
The document: author, title, page number, section, and date
Box and file name or number: Box number used and the folder title or folder number where you found the material
Collection/RG Number: Collection name or Record group number associated with the group of material from which your box/item came.
Repository: The archives where you found the material
Primary Sources can be difficult to cite if they are odd items, but remember- the citation should allow a person to find what you cited without too much digging. It is okay if they have to look through a folder to find the one document you cite, but they should not have to scour the internet to find what institution has the item or scour an entire collection to find the document.
It’s easier to note more information than needed about where and how you got a source when you are researching then to have to re-find the source two days before the papers due!
This is the information for the above letter from Lieutenant Ray M. Cunningham to ISU President Parsons from the President William Wood Parsons Collection, Box 7485. If this was digitized and placed on one of our websites (Wabash Valley Visions and Voices Digital Memory Project or Sycamore Scholars, you would also have a url)
Document: Letter to W.W. Parsons from Lieutenant Ray M. Cunningham dated February 6, 1918
Box and file name/number: Box 7485, Folder: Cunningham, R.M.
Collection/RG number: President William Wood Parsons Collection
Repository: Indiana State University Archives
-Note: Lieutenant Ray M. Cunningham to President William Wood Parsons, February 6, 1918, 7485: Cunningham, R.M., President William Wood Parsons Collection, Indiana State University Archives, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN.
-Bibliography: Cunningham, Lieutenant Ray M. President William Wood Parsons Collection. Indiana State University Archives, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN.
-Online version (digital object):Lieutenant Ray M. Cunningham to President William Wood Parsons, February 6, 1918, 7485: Cunningham, R.M., President William Wood Parsons Collection, Indiana State University Archives, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN. website address.
-Note: (Cunningham, 1918)
-Bibliography: Cunningham, Lieutenant Ray M. Letter to President William Wood Parsons. 6 February 1918. President William Wood Parsons Collection. Indiana State University Archives, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN.
-Online version (digital object):Cunningham, Lieutenant Ray M. Letter to President William Wood Parsons. 6 February 1918. President William Wood Parsons Collection. Indiana State University Archives, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN. website address.
-Note: Cunningham, Lt. Ray M. (February 6, 1918). Letter to President William Wood Parsons.
-Bibliography: Cunningham, Lt. Ray M. (1918, February 6). [Letter to President William Wood Parsons]. President William Wood Parsons Collection, Indiana State University Archives (Box 7485, Folder Cunningham, R. M.), Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN.
-Online version (digital object):Cunningham, Lt. Ray M. [Letter to President William Wood Parsons]. President William Wood Parsons Collection, Indiana State University Archives (Box 7485, Folder Cunningham, R. M.), Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN. website address.