Cunningham Memorial Library: University Archives: Step-by-Step Reading Room

Step-By-Step notes on the Reading Room with Pictures

If you are interested in University history or artwork from the Permanent Art Collection, you will need to Call 812-237-2610 or email ISU_SpecialCollections@indstate.edu to make an appointment to see the material. You should look through inventories to figure out what box you want pulled in Archives in advance. Inventories are located here: www.Archivesearch.indstate.edu. Directions on conducting searches in Archivesspace can be found here: https://library.indianastate.edu/c.php?g=651232&p=4572026. Directions on how to search for catalogued books in Rare Books and Manuscripts and inventoried collections can be found here: https://library.indianastate.edu/specialcollections/UsingSpecialCollections.

Check here for current hours of the Reading Room: https://lib.indstate.edu/rbsc/index.html.

Nothing in Special Collections can be checked out.

All research will occur in room 317- on the third floor of the Cunningham Memorial Library. If you use the elevator or stairs across from the café on the first floor- the reading room is located right off of the third floor.

This is the inside of the Reading Room

The cubbies are where you will put backpack, purses, and any food or drink you may have. Ideally finish food and drink before coming. The coat hanger is for your coat. We will ask that you stow backpack, purses, and coats away before researching. No food or drink is allowed.

This is where you sign in and out. Every time you come in you will sign in. When you leave- please sign out.

This is the Reading Room desk attendant’s desk. There will always be someone here. They will give you directions on our policies, help you get the material you need, answer questions, and in general help you.

This sign in table has multiple useful things. First this is where you sign in and out. No pens, markers, or highlighters are allowed. You can take notes with pencil and paper or laptop. There are pencils here in case you need one and a sharpener. There are also cards for the Director of the Department and the Permanent Art Curator.

This is the registration sheet. The desk attendant will ask if you have been here before, and if not- give you the sheet to fill out and return to them. The first time you come to research here, you will need to register. You DO NOT need to note research topic, or collection used. Use whatever your local address is. Please do not forget to look at the top two corners of the document.

There are shelves like these in the Reading Room. Everything on them is reference material. You do not need to ask permission or fill anything out to take something off these shelves to view.

These are the basic policies we will ask you to follow. These policies ensure that material lasts for a long time. The reading room desk attendant will remind you of these policies if you happen to forget. It is a long list of things to do and not do- so don’t stress if you are reminded by the attendant.

This table is the best table to use if you need to charge your laptop/phone. Use the chairs closest to the bookcase.

There are magnifying glasses if needed. Ask the desk attendant for one. The desk attendant will ask you to wear white gloves if handling photographs, negatives, slides.

You may be asked to fill out this sheet if you are requesting to see a book from Rare books and Manuscripts. You will need the call number, the name of the collection, the author, and title. You will need to print and sign your name on the sheet. You will also need to note if you are an undergrad, grad, faculty, or other. The desk attendant can assist you with filling out this form. See these instructions on how to search for books and get the information you need to request a book in Special Collections: https://library.indianastate.edu/specialcollections/Locating.

If you made an appointment in advance, this is what a cart full of material might look like.

Remember that depending on what you are researching, you will likely not need to look at EVERYTHING in the box. In some cases you will only look at one folder. We pull by the box rather than by folders- so even if you stated you only wanted to look at one folder, we will pull the entire box. If you need to look at a lot of the material in the box, remember than in researching things can sound promising, but have very little value to you and you look through it quickly. Other times you can spend a long time with just one folder but it is full of useful information. Do not get intimidated by the site of a lot of material. This Libguide details how to search the Database for material:

https://library.indianastate.edu/c.php?g=651232&p=4572026

If you are looking at a box with folders and documents, you will be given a white or tan plastic covered marker by the desk attendant. When you wish to look at a folder, you will use this as a place marker in the box. There are two sizes of boxes most used in Special collections.

You will need to look at one box at a time, and one folder within that box at a time. After using the place marker to mark the folder you wish to look at- take the folder out and lay flat on the table. Turn the pages of the documents in the folder like you would turn the pages of the book.

If you are writing a paper- you will likely need to cite. Make notes about the document/image/ etc. you are taking notes on/ photographing. Note the title of the folders you are looking at. Boxes will have some kind of identifier. It may be a number, it may be words. You will need to note it.

If you are looking at a book- the desk attendant will put it in a prop- to protect its spine. All books- old and new, will be placed in the prop.

Sometimes we will use weights and “snakes” to keep the pages of a book or folded up manuscript- open. You can move the weights and you can reposition them on a new page when you turn the pages of the book.

Step-by-step pdf

Library services

The Cunningham Memorial Library contains a lactation room (see circulation), a gender neutral bathroom on the first floor, and an accessible bathroom on the 3rd floor.