CINAHL® provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is an important clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as an authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is an authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders
Use the ISU Library Catalog to find out what books and information resources are held by the ISU Library.
A few search tips. The search interface searches the description of a book, not the full-text of a book. Sometimes too many words can backfire and find nothing. Therefore, do broad searches. Don't enter search words that are too specific. Don't enter too many search words.
Sometimes you should step back and search for a book on a broader topic rather than your specific topic. Remember that a book on public health is likely to include information about COVID-19. A book on nutrition may include information on the Mediterranean Diet. A book on cancers is likely to include a section on breast cancer.
