Cunningham Memorial Library: Chemistry: Resources

Cunningham Memorial Library (Physical Location)	12pm – 10pm
Circulation Desk	12pm – 10pm
Research & Instruction	Closed
Administration Office	Closed
Special Collections	Closed
Technical Services	Closed
Writing Center	By Appointment

Library of Congress Classification for Chemistry

Call Number QD

Like most academic libraries, ISU uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize its books. A call number is assigned to each book or item and the book shelved alphabetically and numerically according to the call number. For chemistry, most materials are located in Library of Congress call numbers QD and TP. QD is the call number for chemistry and TP is the call number for chemical engineering.

Call Number TP

Sadtler

Sadtler handbook of infrared spectra by Sadtler Research Laboratories
Call Number: ISU Main Library QC453 .S73 1978
ISBN: 0845600346
Basic laser Raman spectroscopy by Sadtler Research Laboratories
Call Number: ISU Main Library QD95 .L72
ISBN: 0855010207
Organic chemistry structural problems by Sadtler Research Laboratories
Call Number: ISU Main Library QD257 .W5x
Programmed introduction to gas-liquid chromatography by Sadtler Research Laboratories
Call Number: ISU Main Library QD271 .P33
ISBN: 0855010045

Science Online Reference Books

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Biodiversity
Earth & Environmental Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Plant Breeding and Related Subjects
Encyclopedia of Life
Field Museum of Natural History.; Harvard University.; Marine Biological Laboratory (Woods Hole, Mass.); Missouri Botanical Garden.; Smithsonian Institution.; Biodiversity Heritage Library Consortium
Environmental Encyclopedia
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
pronounced "Gushimek"
Hutchinson Science Desk Reference
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science
Pollution A to Z
Science (Oxford Reference Online)
Science Books from National Academy Press
WebElements Periodic Table

Flow of Scientific Information

Flow of Scientific Information
University of Waterloo

Chemistry Databases

Think! If your topic is in organic chemistry or biochemistry, perhaps the biology databases will have information for you. If your topic is in physical chemistry, check the physics databases. If your topic is health related, check the health databases. If you're investigating the chemical industry, check the business databases, too.

SciFinder Scholar (Chem Abstracts)
Chemical Abstracts is THE chemistry resource
American Chemical Society Web Editions and Journal Archives
Good source
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database but includes some good chemistry journals
AccessScience
Covers other sciences, too
Chemical Hazards and Toxic Substances
US Dept of Labor, OSHA
ChemBioFinder
Was called Chemfinder. Search with free registration.
ChemIDplus Lite
Dictionary of over 380,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, structures)

Includes links to NLM databases and other resources
ChemIDplus SuperList
Lists of chemicals of interest to government agencies (part of ChemIDplus)
ChemRxiv
Chemistry articles that are not yet peer-reviewed or published. Some may be in submission to a journal.
ChemSpider
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Contains information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Click Chemistry
Drug Information Portal
Gateway to drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Covers over 15,000 drugs from entry into clinical trials through entry in the market place.
Consumer Product Information (CPID) Database
Potential health effects of chemicals in 7000 common household products (for the public)
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
ProQuest Science Journals
Covers other sciences, too
Science Citation Index Expanded (1984-present)
ScienceDirect
Millipore Sigma
EMD Millipore and Sigma-Aldrich merged in 2015
TOXNET
National Library of Medicine; covers the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and chemicals. TOXNET HAS MOVED - lists databases which absorbed TOXNET content.
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Web of Science (1984-present)
Started by a chemist, this database allows you to search forwards and backwards in time using a paper's references
Wiley Interscience

Chemical Information Sources

Chemical Information Sources Wiki
Indiana University Department of Chemistry; Gary Wiggins

Chemistry Web Sites

Chemistry Drills
The Higher Education Academy Physical Sciences Centre
Chemogenesis
The Higher Education Academy Physical Sciences Centre

Patents

European Patent Office Database (Espacenet)
Worldwide coverage of patents, including U.S.
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database
United States Patent and Trademark Office
SciFinder Scholar (Chem Abstracts)
Chemical Abstracts is THE chemistry resource. Includes patents.
CAS Patent Coverage
Information ABOUT the Coverage of CAS Basic Patents by Year
What Every Chemist Should Know about Patents
McLeland, Le-Nhung, ed. What Every Chemist Should Know about Patents. ACS Joint Board–Council Committee on Patents and Related Matters. SubCommittee on Education. 3rd ed. 2002.

Subject Guide

Shelley Arvin

Email Me

Contact:

Cunningham Memorial Library, rm 113

1-812-237-2605