Today's Hours
Electronic Journals in Philosophy and Religion are broken down into 18 subject areas:
Philosophy:
Religion:
Cunningham Memorial Library, Indiana State University collects Philosophy and Religion Materials in a variety of Electronic formats What you are looking for can make a difference in where you should look. Different types of sources offer different information. Electronic Books:
Books take about a year to be published. They will not include the latest studies and research. Textbooks and encyclopedias are good for basic information. Further editions of books demonstrate that a source has been updated to reflect new information and may be a standard source in the field. Cunningham Memorial Library is slowly adding E-Books to our collections. As you conduct searches in the library catalog, you may come across the occasional E-Book record.
Electronic Reference Databases and Reference E-books:
Reference books, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, collect accepted facts from the established literature. In health and science, they can be huge and may take years to put together. Therefore, they do not contain the most current information, although they may mention studies that were recent at the the time of publication. But they are a good one-stop-shop to start by learning the basics of a topic. Cunningham Memorial Library collects both E-books and databases in electronic format. Appropriate Philosophy and Religion reference databases can be found under the Philosophy & Religion Subject List from the Library's Electronic Resources Homepage.
Full Text Journals and Magazines:
The latest research is published in journals. It can be difficult to find basic information in journals. Nowadays, most journals have a web site that allows viewing of the table of contents and summaries of articles. The majority of Journals today are collected electronically however we continue to preserve our older journals in paper and mircoformats. Journals and Magazines can be searched electronically by individual title or you can search using the recommended databases in the Philosophy & Religion Subject List. Some recommended Philosophy and Relgion Databases and Popular Databases are listed as links on this page.
