Astronomy ENVI/PHYS 360: Web Links

The Two Micron All Sky Survey, or 2MASS, is a joint project of the University of Massachusetts in Amherst (UMass) and the Infrared Processing and Analysis Center (IPAC) at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech).

Astronomisches Rechen-Institut BIBliographical Database for Astronomical References

Astronomiae Historia / History of Astronomy was created in January 1995 on behalf of the Working Group for the History of Astronomy in the Astronomische Gesellschaft. Since March 1998, this site is also maintained on behalf of Commission 41 (History of Astronomy) of the International Astronomical Union.

U. S. Nautical Almanac Office, United States Naval Observatory (USNO), in the United States and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO), United Kingdom Hydrographic Office (UKHO), in the United Kingdom.

Largest general astronomy society in the world. The Astronomical Society of the Pacific increases the understanding and appreciation of astronomy by engaging scientists, educators, enthusiasts and the public to advance science and science literacy.

"The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: 1) astronomy and astrophysics, containing abstracts; 2) instrumentation, containing 577,783 abstracts; 3) physics and geophysics, containing 877,721 abstracts; and 4) Los Alamos preprint server, containing 3,851 abstracts. [as of 04/22/00] Each dataset can be searched by author, object name (astronomy only), title, or abstract text words...In addition, we have extended the abstract service to include links to the full text of articles appearing in most of the major astronomical journals. Largest collection of online articles and abstracts on the Internet."

American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), the American Astronomical Society (AAS), the American Institute of Physics/Society of Physics Students (AIP/SPS), and the American Physical Society (APS)

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Master list of extragalactic objects, including basic data, Cross-identifications of names. Bibliographic references. Detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data, from large compilations and the literature. Over 700,000 Images of objects from 2MASS, the literature, and the Digitized Sky Survey. NED's data and references updated frequently.

NASA is using PMC to permanently preserve and provide easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research. Beginning with research funded in 2016, all NASA-funded authors and co-authors (both civil servant and non-civil servant) will be required to deposit copies of their peer-reviewed scientific publications and associated data into NASA’s publication repository called NASA PubSpace. This EXCLUDES patents, publications that contain material governed by personal privacy, export control, proprietary restrictions, or national security law or regulations. NASA PubSpace is part of PubMed Central (PMC) which is managed by the NIH.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) All-Sky Monitor (ASM) scans about 80% of the sky every orbit, allowing monitoring at time scales of 90 minutes or longer, and an on board Experiment Data System (EDS) which processes the data from PCA and ASM.

The 150-foot solar tower is operated by the Division of Astronomy and Astrophysics at UCLA with support from
The Mount Wilson Institute

Calvin J. Hamilton processed images from raw NASA spacecraft image data. Includes statistical, geological, and descriptive information. Sorry about the advertising.