Gender and Economics: Developing Countries/Global Issues

GDF Online, produced by the World Bank, provides access to statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.

TradeStats Express provides the latest annual trade data. "National Trade Data" covers U.S. merchandise exports, imports and trade balances. "State Export Data" covers state and regional exports of merchandise. Customized output can be retrieved, visualized, analyzed, printed and downloaded. Presented by the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis (OTEA), Trade Development, International Trade Administration and the U.S. Department of Commerce.

WDI Online, produced by the World Bank, is a premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data export options are available in standard formats like Excel and ASCII. Definitions and sources are also available.

Child Poverty Action Group (CPAG) New Zealand report, September 2011.

248 pages

Every Child Counts found more than 200,000 children are living below the poverty line – more than half of them Maori or Pacific.

From this site, click on an individual country to see specific info. The United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) is the world's largest humanitarian agency fighting hunger worldwide, reaching more than 97 million people in 80 countries with food assistance last year.

World Food Program USA builds support for WFP through fundraising, advocacy and education in the United States.
Solving World Hunger; What WFP Does; Ways to Give; Start a Fundraiser; Nuts and Bolts of Food Aid; Roadmap to End Global Hunger.

Linked from the World Food Programme; each correct answer generates 10 grains of rice

Info by country; State of the World's Children

a portal ie links to lots of info

For purposes of this topic area, look at Economic Development, Food Security,Microfinance, Women's empowerment

Listing individual countries and International Organizations

Last version [discontinued] September 2012; 49 pages - For the latest ILC key indicators by country, see the Country at a Glance feature.

Example from 2009, see Chapter 6.

"Although BLS is the premier source for U.S. labor statistics, the Bureau is also widely recognized for providing comparable international data. BLS provides information on employment, unemployment, productivity, compensation costs, and other labor-related measures for countries in the Americas, Europe, and Asia and the Pacific."