Today's Hours
Chicago citation style was created by the University of Chicago. It is commonly used for citing sources in History and occasionally in the Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Chicago style has two formats:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by 
This link opens in a new window
Chicago Manual of Style Guidelines by
Get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy® guide. Based on the 17th edition of CMS, this handy 6 page laminated guide covers the essentials of this often mandatory style for academic research papers, business reports and published manuscripts. Expertly authored using 25 plus years of experience in editing, academics, business and publishing, it covers aspects of the style necessary for most papers and publications and includes common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due. Add this inexpensive tool to your resources for another way to reinforce your CMS knowledge and ensure your writing is not clouded by incorrect usage that might affect your reader, especially your professors where a grade might be affected. 6 page laminated guide includes: Preparing a Manuscript Copyright & Fair Use Style & Usage Bias-Free Language Punctuation Style & Usage Lists Capitalization Numbers Abbreviations & Acronyms Quotations Documentation Source Citation Overview The Author-Date System The Notes & Bibliography System Sample References Tricky Words An Introduction to Grammar
This link opens in a new window
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
This link opens in a new windowProvides information on notes and bibliography (NB) in Chicago Style. Created by OWL at Purdue University.
Created by the Chicago Manual of Style. Gives examples of how to cite commonly used formats in Chicago Style.
Taken from Research and Documentation Online, 5th ed. by Diana Hacker.
Basic online Turabian citations from the University of Chicago