Cunningham Memorial Library: Music: List of Additional Music Resources

Fusion & Fusion +

Use the Fusion Plus catalog as your first option for locating books, scores, microfilms, journal titles (but NOT articles), sound recordings, and videos owned by Indiana State University, as well as Web-based resources that are accessible via the catalog (electronic books and journals, databases).

Fusion Plus Catalog
Best searching interface for scores, sound recordings, and other complex materials (such as microfilms of manuscripts). Multiple search boxes make exploratory keyword searching easier to enter. Make use of "Material Type", specifically Printed Music.
Fusion Catalog
Useful for finding books and the basics--often not the best path for locating scores, recordings, and microforms. Use this basic search when you already know what you want--working from citations or a bibliography, or other sources with precise information.

Important Music Locations

Circulating scores: 3rd floor.

Circulating books: 3rd floor.

New books: 1st floor browsing collection or 3rd Floor

New scores: 3rd Floor

Reference books: 3rd Floor

Language dictionaries and style manuals: 1st Floor Reference Collection, 1st Floor Reference Desk

Reference scores (complete or critical editions, monuments, etc.): 3rd Floor - Call numbers M2 & M3

Facsimile editions: 3rd Floor

Rare books and scores: Library Special Collections

Bound periodicals: Basement

Unbound periodicals: Basement

Current periodicals: 1st Floor

CDs: 1st Floor Browsing

DVDs: Browsing on 1st Floor, Main Stacks on 3rd Floor

CD-ROMs: 3rd Floor.

Microforms: Basement

Microform reader/printer/scanner: 1st floor

Scanner: 1st Floor

Bibliographies

Block, Adrienne Fried. Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music and Literature. Westport, CO:Greenwood Press, 1979. (Reference ML128 .W7 B6)

Brockman, William S. Music: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1987. (Ref/ML113/.B85/1987)

Damschroder, David. Music Theory from Zarlino to Schenker:A Bibliography and Guide.Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragaon Press, 1990. (Ref/ML128/.T5/D27/1990)

Davis, Deta S. Computer Applications in Music: A Bibliography, Supplement 1. Madison WI: A-R Editions, 1992. (Ref/ML128/.C62/D4/1988/Suppl. 1)

DeLerman, Dominque-Rene. Bibliography of Black Music.Vol. 1.: Reference Materials. Westport, CO: Greenwood Press, 1981. (Ref/ML128/.B45/D44)

Diamond, Harold J. Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature. New York: Schirmer Books, 1991. (Ref/ML128/.A7/D5/1991)

Duckles, Vincent. Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 1997. (Ref/ML113/.D83/1997)

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Baker, Theodore. Baker's Biographical Dictionary Musicians. 8th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 2000. (Ref/ML105/.B16/2000) 6 volumes

Baker's Biographical Dictionary Of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians. Reference ML 105 .S612 1997

Contemporary Composers. Editors, Brian Morton and Pamela Collins. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992. (Ref/ML105/.C75/1992)

The International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians. Editor in Chief, Oscar Thompson. 11th ed. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1985. (Ref/ML100/.I57/1985)

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians II [online and in print at Reference ML100 .N48 2001]

The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Edited by Stanley Sadie. London: Macmillan; New York: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1992. (Ref/ML102/.O6/N5/1992)

The New Oxford Companion to Music. General editor, Denis Arnold. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1983. (Ref/ML100/.S37/1983)

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music. Peter Gammond. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. (Ref/ML102/.P66/G35/1991)

Randel, Don Michael. The New Harvard Dictionary of Music. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1986. (Ref/ML100/.R3/1986)

Rehrig, William H. The Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music: Composers and their Music. Westerville, OH: Integrity Press, 1991. (Ref/ML128/.B23/R4/1991)

Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference. New York: Schirmer Books, 1992. (Ref/MT1/.H138/1992)

Marco, Guy A. Information on Music: A Handbook of Reference Sources in European Languages. Vol. II. The Americas. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1977. (Ref/ML113/.M33/v.2)

Musical America. International Directory of the Performing Arts. Great Barrington, MA: ABC Leisure Magazines, 1974- . (Ref/ML12/.M88/1988)

Research Guides

Phelps, Roger. A Guide to Research in Music Education. 4th ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993. (MT1/.P5/1993)

Wingell, Richard J. Introduction to Research in Music. Upper Sadele River, NJ: 2001. MT 1 .W825 2001.