Today's Hours
Government Publications Resources |
libguides.fdlp.gov Librarians and users typically search for information based on subjects rather than government agency authorship. Library guides are a tool commonly used by libraries to provide users with lists of resources on particular topics.
USA.gov The U.S. government's official website and gateway--a searchable compliation of federal and state governments sites, it also has links that are organized by audience.
www.Bensguide.gpo.gov Ben Franklin's guide contains a wide variety of information intended for children, but also information of interest to teens, plus their parents and teachers.
govinfo.gov is a service of GPO to provide free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. When you search the content available on govinfo, you will be able to download the full text of publications but you won't see records for publications that are not stored on govinfo. govinfo is also a standards-compliant preservation repository, advanced search engine and content management system that securely controls digital content throughout its lifecycle to ensure content integrity and authenticity.
data.census.gov (also titled Explore Census Data) is the primary way to access Census Bureau data. It includes data from American Community Survey, Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. This replaces The American FactFinder.
census.gov The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.
nces.ed.gov The National Center for Educational Statistics, under the Department of Education, is an excellent resource for all kinds of educational information in statistical format. This is the federal agency which produces the annual "Digest of Educational Statistics".
usa.gov/statistics The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation's people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through over 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.
mymoney.gov/lifeevents Through the section 'Paying for Education', many informative federal government websites are listed and available by way of this portal. The home page (of which this is one link)found at www.mymoney.gov is a great resource--whether for taxes, credit, or planning for major life events.
nationalparalegal.edu/conLawCrimProc_Public/Federalism/PresidentialPowers.asp Breaks down many of the legal powers of the President
studentaid.ed.gov THE electronic information resource for federal Student Load information, which was created and is maintained by the Department of Education.
careervoyages.org An introductory resource, available through the www.usa.gov portal: it introduces users to a wide variety of possible career options and jobs.
bls.gov/ooh Occupational Outlook Handbook is a great resource for the current job outlook and career entry requirements for a huge variety of occupations; also created and regularly updated by the Department of Labor.
opm.gov is the official employment site of the U.S. federal government. Produced by the Office of Personnel Management, this is a one-stop source for federal jobs and employment information.
consumer.gov was created to be a 'one-stop' link to a range of federal information resources which is arranged by broad categories including Home and Community and Transportation (each category also has a 'Scam Alert' section). It is listed in this section because students are also consumers--a useful gateway website with information on everything from rental housing to purchasing a used car.
house.gov Official website of the U.S. House of Representatives, this contains information on the individual members, bills, voting information, committees, hearings, etc.
senate.gov Official website of the U.S. Senate, this contains information on the individual members, bills, voting information, committees, hearings, etc.
supremecourtus.gov Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court, gives access to their judicial decisions, and opinions, oral arguments presented to the Court, case docket, etc.
congress.gov Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
whitehouse.gov Official website of the U.S. President, this contains speeches, policy statements, press briefings, and executive orders of the current chief executive; it also serves as a portal to the various executive offices of the president (example: National Security Council), and to current interest topics ranging from pandemic flu to the Patriot Act (including information on Whitehouse Conferences which have been held on many of these topics). There is also an 'Ask the Whitehouse' interactive feature, and a 'History and Tours' section for people interested in the historic building. This website also serves as a springboard to:
whitehouse.gov/vicepresident Official website of the U.S. Vice President, giving access to his speeches, news releases, etc.
business.gov Managed by the Small Business Administration this is the official federal resource to help businesses find compliance, personnel, import, and patent information, plus forms, and contacts from the government - making it useful to businesses of any size!
CRS Reports are based on the same search functionality that Congress uses. The reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agricultural policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran's issues, and much more.
usdoj.gov/crt The Civil Rights Division, of the U.S. Department of Justice was founded in 1957 to enforce anti-discrimination laws; the website has searchable sections ranging from Housing to Disability Rights, plus it gives electronic access to selected court decisions and legal briefs filed by the division, speeches statements, and testimony, and "significant guidance documents".
forms.gov The U.S. government's official hub for electronic forms from EVERY federal agency and department.
healthfinder.gov Healthfinder is a gateway website of health information that is intended for laypeople; it is produced and updated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, which is under the Department of Health and Human Services.
loc.gov The website of the Library of Congress is a portal to everything from digitized collections of photographs to the massive 'American Memory' Project as well as to copyright information. Legally, a copy of every new book published in the U.S. goes to this national library.
ourdocuments.gov The one hundred milestone documents of U.S. history are available electronically here.
science.gov This electronic index is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative science information provided by federal agencies, including research and development results.
census.gov U.S. Census Bureau
cdc.gov Centers for Disease Control
irs.gov Internal Revenue Service
nara.gov National Archives
nih.gov National Institutes of Health
hoaa.gov National Weather Service
osha.gov Occupational Safety & Health Administration
uspto.gov United States Patent and Trademark Office
usda.gov Department of Agriculture
commerce.gov Department of Commerce
dod.gov Defense Department
ed.gov Department of Education
energy.gov Energy Department
epa.gov Environmental Protection Agency
hhs.gov Department of Health and Human Services
dhs.gov Department of Homeland Security
hud.gov Department of Housing and Urban Development
doi.gov Interior Department
justice.gov Department of Justice
dol.gov Department of Labor
whitehouse.gov/omb Office of Management and Budget
whitehousedrugpolicy.gov Office of National Drug Control Policy
state.gov Department of State
dot.gov Transportation Department
ustreas.gov Treasury Department
ustr.gov U.S. Trade Representative
va.gov Department of Veterans Affairs