Today's Hours
Library of Congress Classification is a system used by most academic libraries to categorize books and library materials by topic. Public libraries usually use the Dewey Decimal system. The Rose Hulman Library and the Purdue Library both use the Dewey Decimal system, too.
The Library follows LOC rules to put the "call number" on the spine of the book. The call number tells where to shelve the book.
|
RT |
Materials of interest to the College of Nursing are located in locations throughout the library but can mainly be found under R and RT. Medical information is shelved under R. Nursing information is mostly shelved under RT.
QM Human anatomy.
QP Physiology.
RA960-1000.5 Medical centers. Hospitals. Dispensaries. Clinics, including ambulance service, nursing homes, hospices.
RC440 Psychiatric nursing.
RC521 Dementia nursing.
RC954 Geriatric nursing.
RD99-99.35 Surgical nursing.
RE88 Ophthalmic nursing.
RJ245-247 Nursing of children. Pediatric nursing.
RT NURSING
Encyclopedia of Nursing Education by 
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by
The third edition of this outstanding resource reflects the many advances in the care of older people that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2007... The vast bulk of the content is accessible and relevant to an international audience. The indexing and cross-referencing are excellent... Score: 5/5 stars." -- Margaret Arthur, Nursing Standard "The information in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary... Score: 90, 4 Stars."--Doody's Medical Reviews The third edition of this encyclopedia provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. √ In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Entries are written at an undergraduate level and would be useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers√ Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual. Completely new entries address Geriatric Care Models (acute care for elders, Project BOOST), Geriatric Health Issues (diarrhea in adults, prolonged hospitalization, frailty, fronto-temporal dementia, re-hospitalization, acute urinary retention, personality and aging, primary palliative care), Technology and Aging (Smart home sensors, Telehealth, Surveillance technology), and more. The Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and includes links to important Web-based resources and Apps. Clinical topics comprehensively address diagnosis, treatment, and disease management. Health care clinicians across the continuum will find this reference√>=the only one of its kind--to be a valuable guide to making appropriate referrals to social service providers, and social service professionals will be well informed by highly accessible descriptions of diagnoses, clinical syndromes, and care management. Key Features: Includes over 310 updated geriatric and geriatric care clinical entries across multiple healthcare disciplines Contains state-of-the-art contributions from over 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare experts Provides clinical content for social service professionals and social care information for clinicians Offers new information on multiple topics relating to Geriatric Care Models, Geriatric Health Concerns, and Technology and Aging References numerous Web-based resources and Apps
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. All the authority of the most trusted brand in medical content in a convenient, portable guide Derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, this full color, portable guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in general medical practice. This edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine. Designed for quick access and employing an effective blend of concise text, bulleted key points, decision trees, and summary tables, the Manual makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters use a standard repeating template and cover: * Etiology and Epidemiology * Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology * Signs and Symptoms * Differential Diagnosis * Physical and Laboratory Findings * Therapeutics * Practice Guidelines, and more
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 19th Edition by
Dictionary of the Ben Cao Gang Mu, Volume 1 by
The Ben cao gang mu, compiled in the second half of the sixteenth century by a team led by the physician Li Shizhen (1518-1593) on the basis of previously published books and contemporary knowledge, is the largest encyclopedia of natural history in a long tradition of Chinese materia medica works. Its description of almost 1,900 pharmaceutically used natural and man-made substances marks the apex of the development of premodern Chinese pharmaceutical knowledge. The Ben cao gang mu dictionary offers access to this impressive work of 1,600,000 characters. This first book in a three-volume series analyzes the meaning of 4,500 historical illness terms.
Rural health care in America : challenges and opportunities : hearing before the Committee on Finance, United States Senate, One Hundred Fifteenth Congress, second session, May 24, 2018 by 
The Frontier Nurse Practitioner by 
Nursing Rural America by 
Agricultural Medicine by 
Nursing History for Contemporary Role Development by 
Rural Communities by 
Access to Behavioral Health Care by 
Aging in Rural Places by 
Rural Nursing by 
Population Health in Rural America In 2020 by
Rural America is economically, socially, culturally, geographically, and demographically diverse. This multidimensional diversity presents complex challenges and unique opportunities related to delivering health care and improving health outcomes and health equity in rural communities. To explore issues related to population health in rural America, the Roundtable on Population Health Improvement of the Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a public virtual workshop, "Population Health in Rural America in 2020" on June 24-25, 2020. The workshop planning committee was composed of rural health experts representing public health, health care, and tribal health. Presentations and discussions focused on rural America in context, rural health vital signs, rural health care in action,assessment and implementation strategies for improving the health and health equity in rural populations, and rural health policy.This Proceedings of a Workshop summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Public Health Nutrition by
Public Health Nutrition is a comprehensive, practice-based textbook for graduate and upper undergraduate students and community nutrition and public health professionals. It provides readers with the principal understanding of how improving access to healthy foods at individual, local, regional and global levels as well as improving food security and sustainability can improve community health and combat non-communicable diseases, infectious diseases, hunger and malnutrition, obesity, social injustice, and debilitating food environments. Across diverse communities, this book not only directs readers' attention towards key public health nutrition-related challenges that affect rural and urban populations across the globe, it also adds critical thinking exercises, cases, and engaging discussion to advance application of evidence-based practice in the real world.Using an inter-professional approach and supported with evidence-based research in public health, nutritional science, and behavioral economics, this textbook covers how to plan health promotion programs and interventions in diverse communities, how to analyze and influence food policy, sustainability, and security initiatives, and how to address cultural competency, nutritional monitoring, professional development, and many other practice-based skills out in the field.. All chapters are complete with learning objectives, detailed case studies, discussion questions, learning activities for beyond the classroom, and a review of core topics covered. Essential for public health students studying nutrition, public policy, social work, and other health science-related areas, the book presents a strategic context to real-world initiatives while employing an inter-professional outlook to tackle public health nutrition issues. Key Features Addresses key public health nutrition-related challenges in working with rural, diverse, and global communities to improve outcomes Inter-professional and evidence-based approaches to food and water systems, food security and food sovereignty Includes coverage of hot topics, such as telehealth, mHealth, collaborative grantsmanship, and innovative communication strategies Highlights the aims of Healthy People 2030, Feed the Future, and Sustainability Development Goals Fosters skills and builds competencies related to community health needs assessment, problem solving and critical thinking, systems thinking, evidence-based public health practice, and leadership Chapters include case studies, suggested learning activities, reflection questions, an extensive glossary, and more Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
COVID-19 federal rural resource guide by 
Hard Living in America's Heartland by 
Rural and Other Medically Underserved Populations by To find information about nursing theorists and their theory, search the ISU Library Catalog and the ISU databases for
In the ISU Library Classic Catalog, try searching for the following Subjects:
Usually your best strategy is to use the CINAHL database to search for journal articles across multiple journals.
American Nurses Association