Cunningham Memorial Library: Nursing and Allied Health: Guidelines

Databases

Best practices are available from many sources, including journals and other resources indexed in CINAHL and MEDLINE. Many databases contain limiters (Publication Type, etc.) to find practice guidelines.

CINAHL
CINAHL publication types to consider include Care Plan, Clinical Innovations, Critical Path, Practice Guidelines, Protocol and Standards. Also, consider Evidence-Based Care Sheets available in CINAHLPlus.
more...less...
Cumulative Index to nursing and Allied Health Literature
MEDLINE
Limit to the MEDLINE publication type of "Practice guideline" or "guideline"
OR limit to the MEDLINE Subject Heading of "Practice guideline" or "guideline"
more...less...
All Practice Guidelines are also indexed as Guidelines.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Try searching for "guideline* in the title of articles, although this may miss a few.
MD Consult
Use your personal subscription. Click on "Guidelines" to search for guidelines. Search by authoring organization, specialty, or topic.
more...less...
ISU Library does not have a subscription to MD Consult. Free trials are available.
Cochrane Library Cochrane Collaboration
Four EBP full-text databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (CCTR), and Cochrane Review Methodology Database (CRMD)

Library Catalog

Search for the following phrases as a Subject

clinical medicine--standards
nursing care--standards
practice guidelines

Internet Search Engines

Search your favorite search engine for practice guidelines. Keywords to try include

practice guideline
practice parameter
clinical guideline
standard
protocol
consensus document
algorithm
decision support system

Perhaps search for plurals, too.

Web Resources

Check out nursing specialty organizations.

AHRQ Evidence Based Practice Links to Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Evidence Reports
Click "Clinical Practice Guidelines" in the menu on the left.
more...less...
US Dept of Health & Human Services; Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AIDSinfo
US Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and treatment.
more...less...
Includes some practice guidelines
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
CANADIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION database of practice guidelines
Evidence-Based Medicine Resource Center
New York Academy of Medicine
more...less...
Links to practice guidelines.
GuidelineCentral
Guideline Central is currently working with a handful of other organizations to establish a new non-profit initiative which will aim to fill the gap left by the sudden closure of AHRQ’s National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC).
HSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Text)
NLM Information Technology Branch of the Lister Hill Center
more...less...
Includes some practice guidelines.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), US Department of Health and Human Services. Web site will not be available after July 16, 2018 because federal funding through AHRQ will no longer be available
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Search the 27 Institutes and Centers for "clinical practice guidelines", "practice guidelines", or "guidelines"
NIH Consensus Statements
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
more...less...
NIH Consensus or State-of-the-Science statements reflect the NIH panel's assessment of medical knowledge available at the time the statement was written.
Nursing Best Practice Guidelines
Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO)
Nursing Practice Guidelines (by Ministry of Health, Singapore)
RCN Clinical Guidelines
Royal College of Nursing

Nursing Organizations

AACN (American Association of Critical-Care Nurses)
Includes both free and "member-only" information, as well as links for purchasing published standards.
AWHONN (Association of Women's Health,Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses)
Lists AWHONN EBP guidelines. Guideline summaries are available from the National Guideline Clearinghouse by searching on "AWHONN"
Standards & Guidelines
Oncology Nursing Society

Best Practices

AHRQ Evidence Based Practice, Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
Section on Evidence Based Health Care (SEBHC), The New York Academy of Medicine
more...less...
New York Academy of Medicine links to clinical practice guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), US Department of Health and Human Services. Web site will not be available after July 16, 2018 because federal funding through AHRQ will no longer be available
more...less...
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), US Department of Health and Human Services
Nursing Best Practice Guidelines
more...less...
Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO)
RCN Protocols
Royal College of Nursing (RCN), United Kingdom
more...less...
Royal College of Nursing

Nursing and Allied Health: Guidelines