Media Writing: MASS COMM: PUBLICATIONS

• Issues on MICROFILM: 1992:Jan.1-2008:June - Sunday edition has title: Indianapolis Sunday star, June 1907- <1943> continues Indianapolis morning star [Star Pub. Co., 1907-] The Indianapolis star & the news has its own enumeration beginning with vol. 1, no. 1, published Nov. 25, 1994.
• Some articles available in McClatchy-Tribune collection [library databases]
• Published by Indianapolis Star: Indianapolis through our eyes / [presented by] the Indianapolis Star. Special Collections - Indiana Collection. No call number. 2003

• ISU LIBRARY HAS full issues,  v.1 (1933)-v.139 (2001/02:Dec.-June) on Microfilm plus access online - see below

• The weekly war : newsmagazines and Vietnam / James Landers. DS559.46 .L36 2004
• Chapter: Newsweek "My turn" columns and the concept of rhetorical genre : a preliminary study / Richard Fulkerson., in  Defining the new rhetorics / edited by Theresa Enos, Stuart C. Brown, 1993.  P 211 .P74 v.7
• Deciding what’s news : a study of CBS evening news, NBC nightly news, Newsweek, and Time / Herbert J. Gans, 1979. PN4867 .G3
• Chapter: Time and Newsweek, by A. K. MacDougall in The press; a critical look from the inside, edited by A. Kent MacDougall, 1972. PN4867 .M313

Terre Haute newspapers available on microfilm: Terre Haute Star [1953-1956; 1966-1983]; Terre Haute Tribune [1966-1983]; Tribune-Star [1983-present]. The Vigo County Public Library main branch maintains clippings files of historical value in their Community Archives. Their web site contains more information, including a category listing. An online catalog search for 'terre haute ind newspapers' gives more info about other microfilm holdings.

Handbook for Statesman staffers / John H. Boyd, Jr.

Special Collections - Faculty Collection Faculty B790 .H3 1976s [does not circulate]

Indiana Statesman - back issues on microfilm 1929:May 16-2008:Apr. 28 [ongoing]; missing 2002 Ag-D & 2003 Ja-Jl Missing

Some articles available from 1998, September to present via Lexis-Nexis’ University Wire

Possible mention in books on the history of Indiana State University:

Owls and sycamores : the life and times of Indiana State University and its president 1975-1992 / Richard G. Landini LD2473 .L36 1999

Your ISU community in history and legend / Catherine A. Baker, editor ... [et al.]. Reference Desk LD2473 .Y68 1999

Challenges and opportunities : a memoir of Indiana State University in transition / [by Alan C. Rankin] LD2473 .R36 1998 [another copy in Faculty Collection]

Centennial history of Indiana State University, 1870-1970 / Jean Anne McAllister, editor ; Lloyd Long, Sycamore editor. Copies in Reference, regular Oversize and Special Collections - Indiana Collection at LD2473 .C4 1970

Exciting, exacting, and expansion years at Indiana State Teachers College, 1934-1953. President’s report to the Teachers College Board of Indiana. Tirey, Ralph N. (Ralph Noble), 1882-1964. LD2452 .I5 [regular and Faculty Collection]

Items on College Student Newspapers, generally:

The campus press: freedom and responsibility. Prepared by Julius Duscha and Thomas Fischer. LB3621 .D87

• ISU Library has Microfilm v.1 (1974)-v.50 (1999:Jan. 4)

• Microfilm v.1 (1923)-v.156 (2000/01:Winter);   online from 1990 in various databases. Use E-Journals to identify.
• Online Catalog Subject headings: American periodicals; History in mass media; Periodicals Publishing United States History; Press Coverage United States 

Is Time covered in these books?

• The Life Cycle of Magazines : a historical study of the decline and fall of the general interest mass audience magazine in the United States during the period 1946-1972 / by A. J. van Zuilen. 1977 - PN4877 .Z8
• Magazines in the United States. PN4877 .W6 1971
• Magazines in the Twentieth Century.1956. PN4877 .P4

• The kingdom and the power : behind the scenes at The New York times : the institution that influences the world / Gay Talese  PN4899.N42 T574 2007
• Without fear or favor : the New York times and its times / Harrison E. Salisbury. PN4899 .N42T567 1980
• Behind the Times : inside the new New York times / Edwin Diamond. PN 4844 .N42 N375 1994.
• The story of the New York times, 1851-1951. PN4899.N42 T53

• The paper’s papers : a reporter’s journey through the archives of the New York Times / Richard F. Shepard. PN 4899 .N42 T5685 1996
• The Jayson Blair story [videorecording]: favoritism and plagiarism at The New York Times / ABC News Productions. 23 min. PN4874 .B543 J39 2004
•  Kill duck before serving : red faces at The New York Times : a collection of the newspaper’s most interesting, embarrassing, and off-beat corrections / edited by Linda Amster and Dylan Loeb McClain ; introduction by Allan M. Siegal ; drawings by Tom Bloom. PN4899.N42 N3757 2002
• The times of my life and my life with the Times / Max Frankel. PN4874.F615 T56 1999
• The trust : the private and powerful family behind the New York Times / Susan E. Tifft, Alex S. Jones. Z473.N44 T54 1999
• The day the presses stopped : a history of the Pentagon papers case / David Rudenstine. KF 228 .N52 R84 1996
• The #1 New York times bestseller : intriguing facts about the 484 books that have been #1 New York times bestsellers since the first list in 1942 / John Bear. Z1033.B3 B43 1992
• A day in the life of the New York times. Adler, Ruth, 1910-  Saint Mary-of-the-Woods Library 071.471 .A237d
• All the news that fits; a critical analysis of the news and editorial content of the New York times [by] Herman H. Dinsmore. 1969.  Saint Mary-of-the-Woods Library 071.471 .D587a
• A test of the news : an examination of the news reports in the New York times on aspects of the Russian Revolution of special importance to Americans, March 1917 -- March 1920 / by Walter Lippmann and Charles Merz ; prepared with the assistance of Faye Lippmann. New Republic, 1920. ISU Special Collections - Debs Collection Pamphlet L766 .T4 1920p